We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place and very good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #10 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming place and very good atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We spent one night in March at Amanzi Lodge on Leisure Island.
Our bedroom, tastefully decorated, very spacious had a balcony facing the lagoon offering a wonderful view.
Delicious breakfast, cool atmosphere and relaxing place. We liked the quietness of the island and the mountain bikes available at the guest house.
Helen (the young and friendly owner) hosted us as friends and gave us a lot of precious advices for the next steps of our trip.
We highly recommend this nice guest house.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    51
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
380
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here in January and enjoyed our time at Amanzi Lodge thoroughly. The owner and managers are extremely friendly and knowlegeable, the lodge is located right on the river with views over the lagoon. The room was large and really comfortable, the bathroom and double showers and sinks were great when you come in from a day exploring. Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the river. The pool is nice and the whole place has a relaxed feel. Breakfast was great and the honesty bar is a nice touch that reflects how cool the owner is. They have bikes, kayaks for free and floating down the river when the tide changed is something you have to do. We spent a couple of stress free days here and would thoroughly recommend you check it out.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Drove along the Garden route from PE to Cape Town and decided to spend a couple of nights in Knysna.

Found the Amanzi Island lodge on Trip Advisor and booked. Best decision I ever made.

This place is fantastic, period. If you go to Knysna for any reason you have to stay here, this place is amazing and didn't want to leave.

The rooms are great, very big and with super views across the lagoon. The hosts are wonderful, very helpful and enthusiastic about what they do and nothing is too much trouble.

They have great restaurant recommendations too which we used on both nights and they arranged everything for us.

All I can say is - just go and stay there and see for yourself

  • Liked — Couldn't fault anything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

After a three week vacation of the Eastern & Western Cape I can only say that this was one of the best accommodations that my wife and I had.
This Guest House has amazing rooms to 5 star standards, run by Helen (with the help of Sue) who can not do enough for you.
Situated right on the edge of the water with great views of the bay, one of the best locations on Leisure Island.
Great for a short drive into the main town, with a couple of good restaurants within a short walk from the Guest House.
Free Internet access (wifi), honesty bar and off-road parking.
A truely amazing stay, Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The Amazi Island Loge is situated on the pretty Leisure Isle in Kynsna Lagoon.

Welcome
We were warmly welcomed by Margaret, who promptly showed us to our room. Margaret was great as she made some excellent recommendations of things to do and places to go in the area. She helped us with reservations for restaurants for both evenings.

Facilities
Our room was so beautifully decorated and had a fabulous bathroom. We also had a sun terrace looking over Knysna Lagoon which we had been informed would be perfect for sundowners and it really was.

There is a well stocked bar, and we were also provided with nibbles!

Breakfast
Is served on the sunny veranda, and was perfection. Lovely selection, excellent quality, served delightfully.

I cannot recommned the Amanzi Island Lodge highly enough - it was one of our favourite places to stay on our trip along the Garden Route

  • Liked — Our beautiful bedroom - great views when reclining!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Excellent atmosphere & service. After a great welcome we where shown up to the garden room overlooking the pool. Very large and above all very luxureus and comfortable. We stayed here for three days but if the weather would have been better a longer stay in Knysna and surroundings is deffinately worthwhile. Helen and Sue thanks for your lovely service, great breakfast and great attention to detail.

WE LOVED IT and will be back,

Frits & Carla
Amsterdam

Oh, Yes don't forget to have dinner at the Firefly.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the great detail in decoration
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jdrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Amanzi Island Lodge was our favorite accommodation during our three-week visit to South Africa. Although all of the rooms are lovely, we recommend Room 3. It has a large terrace, two full bathrooms (one with a large bathtub and the other with a large shower) and a beautiful view of the lagoon.

There are good restaurants within walking distance, but our best meal was at Firefly, a short drive from Amanzi.

Helen and her Mom, Sue, are delightful hosts and do all in their power to insure your every need is answered. They maintain direct contact with each of their guests--serving breakfast, suggesting things to do and making reservations for dinner.

Knysna is a sophisticated, up-scale destination and should not be missed.

  • Liked — Room #3
  • Disliked — We loved everything about it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Property: Amanzi Island Lodge
Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing