We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #9 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here one night in Feb and loved it. A beautiful house right by the lagoon. Delicious breakfast cooked by the owner and Marion, his wife, couldn't be more welcoming, She booked us a table at Sirocco, an excellent restaurant, by the waterfront, where they collect you by minibus free of charge. V good value and we wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room no 4 upstairs with balcony and view of the garden and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We so enjoyed our stay here. The house was lovely, tastefully furnished. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful. Lovely breakfasts. They even booked restaurants and had our car cleaned every day! Excellent service. The garden and views of the nature reserve were delightful. We enjoyed watching Gavin feed the Guinea fowl and geese etc that appeared a.m and 5pm on the days we were there. A real treat to see. The pool was inviting especially after a day of touring around and walking. Guest towels were supplied along with cushions for the sunbeds. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We haf a ground floor room with a balcony overlooking the garden and were n't overlooked at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalisburyAvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Maerch 2013, after having a 4-day safari adventure just outside Port Elizabeth and on our way to Cape Town. So after a 5 hour drive we had a very warm welcome and the guest house was in a lovely position - just a mile or so through the main town but by the waterside.
During our stay we felt very welcome and - as we usually use hotels - this was a good experience. We had the main double room (number 1) as I wanted my wife to have a large room, balcony and bath to relax in. It had a large double bed, TV, mini bar etc and was very clean and well decorated. We had a large balcony at the front with uninterrupted views over the water - although being at the front left, I can imagine it feeling slightly looked over by the rooms to the right (albeit they are set back a little so really not an issue).
Breakfast was very good each morning, and plenty of choice and a cooked meal by Gavin. Outside there was a pool and seating area and a beautiful garden - when we were there it got to 25 degrees plus so a lovely place to sit and chill.
Gavin's and Marion were lovely hosts - helpful without being over bearing - so just right.
If were to visit South Africa again we would definately consider coming back here if our itinerary allowed - but maybe 1 or 2 nights only in Knysna.
Marion did book us 1 afternoon of golf at the local course which was spectacular and on par with a Wentworth\ The Grove back in England for the overall quality and experience. (About 40 pounds per person including buggy!)

Room Tip: Probably rooms 1-4 as they are upstairs with a balcony and a lovely view. Room 2 looked the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Lodge is situated on the west end of Knysna just after you enter the bay which makes it quiet yet close to the waterfront. The rooms are on the first floor so they look out over the garden and the salt marsh. Ours was in the middle and if I have a small criticism it is that we were a bit overlooked by the balconies at each side. Guinea fowl peck around the garden and there is always something to see down on the shore. There are couple of chameleons living in and around the house to provide some entertainment by changing colour obligingly!

The hosts are full of cheer and make every effort to please. Their advice on what to do and where to eat was spot on. It is a short drive to the town centre and easy to park. The laundry service was fast, cheap and efficient.

We took advice and visited the Heads, goldmine etc. Knysna is a very good centre and one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great hospitality from our hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Top location on the Lagoon our room lead straight onto the lawn and the lagoon. Breakfasts were fantastic. Marion was very helpful advising us of places to visit and resturants to eat in. Our car was cleaned every day for us which was an unusual but nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Very nice and high quality lodge.
Very friendly run by owners, offering a great breakfast.
Top location, excellent bedrooms.
Can only recommend to book your stay there. the fact is is a little outside of Knysna did not disturb us at all.

Room Tip: Try to get room with view toward garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I was quite aprehensive about traveling solo, but was very pleased with the lodge, atmosphere, breakfast, room, view... Everything was just perfect. I stayed two nights and was treated with great care. Thank you Marion and Gavin, it was a treat.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 129 in Knysna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: The Point Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing