We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #9 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for three nights with Marion and Gavin. What a fantastic room we had, we could not have asked more. Marion and Gavin gave us lots of helpful advice, with Marion making phone calls to help us book meals and places to stay for our onward journeys. The fishermen's restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopshamExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We chose to stay overnight at the Waterfront Lodge in Knysna, as we had read the favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and our stay there endorses what other satisfied guests have experienced.
Hats off to Marion, who goes the extra mile to ensure that her guests feel at home - and what a beautiful home it is!I loved the attention to detail which has gone into providing the guests with home comforts.
The view from our bedroom and balcony gave us vistas over the lagoon and we both were able to relax and enjoy the birdlife visible from our vantage point.
We were treated by Marion and Gavin to a superb breakfast - a buffet fit for a king, with our request for poached eggs met without question and really professionally done. Marion offered us freshly baked croissants - straight out of the oven - and what a treat that was!
Our brief stay here was just so good, so congratulations, Marion and Gavin and thank you!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs with lagoonviews worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hosts Gavin and Marion are superb
1. They sent me all documents for my visa with a smile! Nothing is too big a request for them
2. EXCELLENT HOSPITALITY Gavin took me for a tour of Knysna himself as I did not know to drive. I got to see the best views of Knysna from 5 different locations. It is always special to have the insider view of the best spots. He also took me for a short township visit and dropped & picked me back from the Waterfront. He did it with a smile without any expectation! That is the kind of couple that these people are. WARM, FRIENDLY and like a FAMILY!
3. The room is fabulous. Gavin recommended the bath tub with lagoon views and it is perfect. I got upgraded to a lagoon room as it was free the day I checked in.The rooms are decorated with nice shell curios (which I wanted to take back with me! Of course!)
4. Breakfast is DELICIOUS with Marion brining in freshly baked croissants on both days
5. The couple take GOOD CARE of their employees dropping them off each day after work. They also feed the poor each week and have a soup kitchen each week. Just goes to show how caring these people are not only to the guests but their staff and society in general
6. Marion brings in lovely peppermint tea PAMPERING me while I relaxed with a book by the fireplace. And to complete the picture I had their friendly cat sitting on my lap. Oh the bliss of it all! I would love to go back and please don't miss this lodge for 5 star luxury.
It is a WARM, WARM place with the friendliest of hosts.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purnima448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Waterfront Lodge Knysna is the best B&B we stayed in South Africa.
Fantastic hosts, fabulous house, amazing value for money. Top quality "Full English" breakfast.
"Darling" Marion and Gavin are the best hosts you will EVER meet.
We had a blow out on the motorway and Marion and Gavin made numerous phone calls to the car rental company to get things sorted out whilst allowing us to get on with our holiday.
Hand feeding cheese to the fork tailed Drongo's while being surrounded by Guineafowl was magical.
Just stay here - you owe it to yourself!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking the rear garden and lagoon is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Waterfront Lodge is the best B&B we ever stayed in Knysna and one of the best in South Africa. Incredible value for money, views to die for, fantastically decorated with super comfortable beds, easy to get into town, great pool and sauna and the best breakfast you could wish for. Gavin and Marion, thank you for making our long weekend so memorable.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is no 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Friendly welcome. This lodge is right on the edge of the lagoon. The room overlooked it and the garden and pool run down towards the water. Very comfortable room. Great facilities, stylish decor, honesty bar, well cooked breakfast and our hosts could not have been more helpful in advising us on where to visit in Knysna, restaurants, booking taxis etc. Need to come back for longer.

Room Tip: A waterside room with a balcony is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A short drive from the centre of Knysna, with views over the pool to the lagoon with birdlife popping in to inspect the breakfast tables, the Waterfront Lodge is a wonderful spot. The owners insist on giving tips for day trips out and booking tables for dinner. Gavin cooks a proper breakfast, and Marian's coffee and pastries are top quality.
If I were to visit Knysna again I would stay at the Waterfront Lodge.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best. 2 and 4 are perfectly nice, but 1 and 3 are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Address: The Point Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £59 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing