We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WATERFRONT LODGE KNYSNA....THE NO 1 PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #8 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WATERFRONT LODGE KNYSNA....THE NO 1 PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This was our second stay at THE WATERFRONT LODGE IN KNYSNA and was as ood as the first visit. the hosts Marion and Gavin are so friendly and helpful they make you feel so welcome, its so homely you can go to breakfast in relaxed clothing, you dont even have to lock your room door. Kate and Jay who cook breakfast are so sweet and they will recommend dinner and reserve the restaurant for you they are so obliging and the breakfast is fantastic, Your car is washed every morning....lovely spot overlooking the Lagoon...rooms are amazing with lovely balconies such luxury, we were golfing and Marion booked our tee times ......the town of Knysna is lovely and the waterfront has some lovely restaurants TAXIS SO CHEAP, Bennies taxis which Kate will book are so reliable THE BEST RESTAURANT IS PEMBREYS, WE WOULD NEVER STAY ANY WHERE ELSE IF IN KNYSNA..... NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THEM TO ORGANISE...... WATERFRONT LODGE......THE BEST RELAXING PLACE EVER.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank custard1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
168
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Second stay at this homely upscale B & B and will be very happy to return for a third visit in 2011.

Great position just a short ride to the centre of Knysna which suited us perfectly. Marion and Gavin fantastic hosts aided by the wonderful J and Kate who could not have been more helpful booking great restaurants (Pemburys the favourite) and suggesting days out. Really nice room (no 7) on the ground floor leading directly on to the garden and out over the lagoon. A new service from the previous stay is the turn down service which is great as fresh towels are provided. Breakfast excellent.

Nice decor to the entire property with an honesty bar provided. It should be pointed out that three cats can occasionally been spotted around the property which wasn't a problem at all for us but worth mentioning if an issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimbledonGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We used Waterfront Lodge as a base for a golfing and sightseeing holiday. Gavin and Marion could not have been more helpfull, organising our games in advance at stunning golf courses. Waterfront Lodge is about a mile out of Knysna which gives it a lovely "out of town" feeling. The rooms are, as a result, quiet and feel quite secluded with their beautiful lagoon views. Gavin's knowledge of the area proved to be extensive as he recommended some wonderful drives in the Knysna area, the Prince Alfred Pass being quite remarkable. As we were a little out of town we thought that we would have the nuiscence of using taxi's on an evening. However Marion and Kate booked us into fantastic restaurants with free shuttle service there and back, excellent.
Overall a lovely relaxing place to stay. Beautifull, quiet rooms. Friendly staff and great hosts. Our best stay on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxxxxxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslow cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The settings were beautiful . We had booked for 2 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we ended staying for 10 nights instead.. The staff and owners were more than helpful.. Breakfast is delightful so much to choose from... nothing was to much trouble for them .. would recommend definately whilst in the Knysna ( And our hire car was washed every morning as a bonus ..these little touches were special)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl0ndie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We used the Waterfront for a 2-night stay at the end of a tour along the Garden Route before returning to Cape Town. Unfortunately, our break was spoiled by the position of our room. To be precise, Room 8. Not waterfront lagoon-facing at all, despite the hotel brochure stating ' all have lagoon views' conflicting with their details on the website. Our view was of a concrete slab wall two metres away and at the window, a rather large tree trunk blocking the view over the car park. The two other couples in our party received lagoon views which did not help the situation. For the record, there are also cats in the dining room - not very hygenic, re-surfacing and widening of the main road by the hotel entrance causing early noise, and more importantly, poor security as room keys are hung up behind the unlocked front door to the hotel for anyone to collect. Sorry, but there is some work to be done to avoid further dis-satisfied guests. Food was good and the two younger staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandab4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

A lovely guest house where the staff were extremely accommodating, welcoming and helpful. We arrived after a long drive with a flat tyre on our hire car. Immediately Marion asked for our hire car details and organised for another car to replace ours first thing the next morning. Rooms were lovely, clean, wonderful views, with Tea/Coffee etc. The restaurant was nicely laid out and breakfast was plentiful and varied. The views from the hotel were magnificant. The lounge area was warm and tastefully decorated, although we didn't spend much time in it during our stay, we all felt very comfortable and 'at home'. Gavin was excellent at giving directions and suggesting places to visit, and the younger members of staff were also impressive in carrying out their duties.
The only negative point is that there are 'family cats, and for anybody allergic or cat phobic, the holiday companies should perhaps point this out. For us though, this wasn't a problem. A lovey hotel that I would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Wonderful location, accommodation and hosts: hosts always helpful, and always looking to assist, words can not express how pleased we are in staying here – made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishIrishLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#12 of 126 in Knysna
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Lodge

Property: Waterfront Lodge
Address: The Point Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing