We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I'm fussy and I can't fault this place. Bianca and Ross strike the right balance between being attentive interested hosts and not being in your face. What sets this place apart, even in S Africa where there are so many 5* guest houses, is the service. Bianca and Ross have half a dozen delightful staff so there is proper room service. Breakfast is a la carte with stacks of choice and served wherever you like: dining room, terrace or your own private terrace (which, incidentally, had a panoramic view of the lagoon) so you don't have to do that awful small talk to other people at breakfast thing. Small preferences were noted and remembered. Gifts were left in the room. Great location for the waterfront/Thesen Island. Really, you shouldn't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

My boyfriend and I recently got engaged and decided to drive the Garden Route and stay 2 nights in Knysna. Following advice from trip advisor we picked Villa Afrikana to stay and we were not disappointed. We felt like it was our honeymoon! We were greeted warmly by the owners Ross and Bianca and everything was taken to our room by very helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary drink of your choice on arrival served with chocolate dipped strawberries (heaven) which we sipped by the pool outside our suite. We were given great information about Knysna from Bianca and Ross, they put together a great information pack of Knysna we could look through and decide what to do. They booked our restaurants on both nights and we were treated like kings in both. Returning to our suite at night we had rose petals everywhere, chocolates on our pillows and everything was tidied away it was so nice to come back to. Breakfast in the morning was the best we had ever had- ever! You choose whatever you want the night before on a breakfast card, from the time you want it delivered to where you want to eat it. As we are big breakfast people we selected pretty much everything! Waffles, French toast, muesli, yoghurt, eggs (however you like with whatever you like) cold meat platter, cheese platter, muffins, toast, juices, coffees etc you name it they had it! They couldn't have been more helpful, a very unintrusive stay that was the perfect way to celebrate and end of our 6 month stay in South Africa. We will definitely stay again if we come back to Knysna- a 5star and more stay!

Rob and Jude, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Given the tastefully decorated bedrooms, the luxurious bathrooms and the outstanding views across Knysna Lagoon, It's really in the small, personal touches, performed consistently, that Villa Afrikana differentiates itself from its competitors. For example, Ross and Bianca, the owners, together with a couple of their staff, coming into the car park to greet us on arrival and walking us to our car on departure, just as you might do with your own family. Bianca personally escorting us to our room and charmingly taking us through the items at our disposal. The 'Welcome' drink on arrival was pleasant but what really counted was the fact that although they did not have the particular brand of beer my husband requested at that time, they had made sure that the next day they did when he requested one at the poolside. A little card left in our room on the morning of departure bidding us 'good-bye' followed by an email a day or so later thanking us for our stay, demonstrated further uniqueness of service.
The breakfasts were superb, made to order and beautifully presented. I also acquired the impression that Ross and Bianca had chosed their staff for their wonderful attitude rather than for possible prior experience in the hospitality industry and had thus been able to train them to their own requirements. A nice rapport existed between staff and owners which generally makes for happy employees and consequently a willing team of service providers. The owners are warm, always available to their guests for any requirement yet remain unobtrusive - a great combination not easily achieved by many establishments.
An outstanding place to stay and, from the perspective of my husband and I, faultless in every regard!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ross and Bianca were great hosts giving advice on all queries including identification of a large black snake (in the forest not the hotel). Bedroom and bathroom an absolute delight. Breakfasts tailor made. We haven't stayed anywhere better, anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear kings

Thank you for sharing your review, we are so delighted to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations. It is thanks to your feedback that we are able to define and fine-tune our product.

Bianca, I and all the staff are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana.

“Until we meet again”, greetings “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Elizabeth and Lovemore

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites is recognised as an innovator in the Guest House category, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambience of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very friendly and incredibly welcoming.
Exceptional breakfast - try the French toast!
Outstanding views from the rooms across the lagoon.
Nice area around the pool - though pool itself wasn't very enticing as it wasn't very clean (though I'm sure this can be easily rectified).
All in all, an outstanding hotel.
And, if you go, make sure you visit east head cafe!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JessicaF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear jessicaf

Thank you for sharing your “outstanding” review for an “outstanding” stay at Villa Afrikana. Our sincere apology for the regrettable look of our pool at that moment in time, we can assure you it was rather an exception than the norm.

It was a pleasure having you here and looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana.

“Until we meet again”, greetings “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Elizabeth and Lovemore

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites is recognised as an innovator in the Guest House category, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambience of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Perfect Views, Perfect Rooms, Perfect Staff and Perfect Owner, by far the best we stayed in over 3 weeks in South Africa we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear Ken M

Thank you for the “PERFECT” review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana for your 1st anniversary.

“Until we meet again”, greetings “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Elizabeth and Lovemore

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites is recognised as an innovator in the Guest House category, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambience of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Ross and Bianca plus every member of the team make your own stay a really special one.
Its about the attention to detail - from advice on :
- which trek to go on (we did "Trebala" and did not see one fellow human or anything appearing like one for 3 hours - great in one way but a tad stressful if you come from from London town - also many others too choose from in a book Ross leant us),
- the folding of my wifes nightie (made it on facebook as a running gag - how many ways can a betty boop night shirt be folded and be so humourous - people still enquiring - lovely touch)
- offering to book cabs, restaurants
- organising the individually prepared breakfasts on your own balcony - just like home - I dont think.
We stayed in a top floor suite called Spitskopf (prob not correct spelling - effect of too many good wines and beers) - stunning views over the lagoon - Oh yes one thing make sure you really know your partner well as in this suite an open door loo policy is in place ( easy solution - either tun up the shower or the music at critical moments in ablutions - better move on too much detail methinks)

All in all fantastic

Room Tip: study website and even call them - all details there
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear simmo

Thank you for summarizing all the strong points of our product in details. Bianca and I are so proud of all the small things and so much so of our wonderful staff that provides them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as “Friends & Family” in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, greetings “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Elizabeth and Lovemore

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites is recognised as an innovator in the Guest House category, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambience of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £122 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing