We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Villa Afrikana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Kerry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at Villa Afrikana”
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We stayed at the Villa Afrikana for two nights while traveling the Garden Route between Cape Town and a game reserve beyond Port Elizabeth. We had stayed in Camps Bay (Cape Town, lots of fun) for the most part of a week and wanted somewhere a bit more relaxing as a change of scenery. I had only ever driven through Knysna before so I was looking forward to hanging out there for a couple of days.

Villa Afrikana is a stunning property, up in the hills in a nice suburban area on the way into the town of Knysna. Recently rebuilt/developed it is luxurious, sleek, modern, lots of glass, white walls and well chosen funky pieces of furniture. Impressive views over the lagoon and surrounding headland.

The owners, Bianca and Ross are great hosts, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Ross gave a recommendation for dinner (Lush - loud, fun interior design, good food and enjoyable!) for us on the second night and made the reservation for us. Both were knowledgeable about traveling all around the area and Bianca made some other recommendations about possible places to visit/stay on our route ahead which also worked out really well.

The only thing I would say was a slight discomfort was that in our room the curtains were very light, they looked great but it meant that I woke each morning at sunlight, as the room became flooded with light due to the large windows. This wasn't in any way terrible as I did get to see an amazing sunrise over Knysna.

Overall a very pleasant relaxing stay at Villa Afrikana. The best value and most luxurious stay of our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stock550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
541
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

It took a few minutes driving around to find this gem perched high on a hill overlooking Knysna, but the search was well worth it. From the moment Ross greated us in the driveway to the long kitchen chat before leaving, our stay was wonderful and memorable. A lovely large room, great balcony overlooking the lagoon and huge lux bathroom meant we never wanted to leave. Public spaces are unique, uncluttered and shine. Great breakfasts can be taken in the meals area or bought to your room. On our first night we enjoyed a home cooked dinner sitting on the balcony - it started to rain, but no way was i going inside. The cool air was a real tonic after a days driving. A few downsides - stairs need to negotiated, but there is plenty of staff for the luggage. And the wifi didn't work (so Ihad to relax instead of work). Not on the lagoon which may bother some, but all the better for it I believe. Ross and Bianca are great hosts and born hoteliers, and although only just open, Villa Afrikana will be a huge success.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Addled_in_Ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Immaculately clean with beautiful and tasteful decor, this villa is a fantastic choice on the garden route. The views on the balcony are amazing and the rooms are big, comfortable, with huge bathrooms equipped with all of the luxurious amenities. The best thing is to wake up with the wind blowing through the curtains, opening up to a picturesque view of the Knysna lagoon and mountains. The hosts are excellent and tremendously warm and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carvegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

This place is an absolute gem. It has only opened this season and has been completely refurbished to an incredibly high standard in a modern african style. It sits up on a hill overlooking the Knysna lagoon and all rooms have stunning views. The guest house has a lovely swimming pool and patio area and plenty of communal lounge and relaxing areas.

Bianca and Ross, your hosts take excellent care of their guests with some of the nice thoughts ranging from complementary sparkling wine to being offered wine and snacks on the terrace in the evening.

This was the best place we stayed along the garden route and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing