We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Superlatives fail me when trying to convey how fabulous the Villa is. The setting, views and beautiful stylish interiors are in a class of their own but what makes this establishment a fantastic place to stay is the staff. From the moment you arrive and they greet you ready to take your bags, give you a cold towel and show you your suite till the moment you leave ( in your freshly washed car) they are smiling, helpful and welcoming. It is the small touches that Ross and Bianca do very well- the welcome glass of wine and chocolate covered strawberries, the treats at turn down time, the glass of port on a cold evening or cold towels by the pool when the sun comes out. We had breakfast on our balcony twice and it was idyllic. The food is plentiful, fresh and beautifully presented. The suites have been furnished with high quality fixtures and fittings and the linens, towels and robes sumptuous. The staff also seem to anticipate a need which is a sign of excellent training and all seamless. We would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Top suites give great views and added element of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear katie26
Thank you for the superb review, we are particularly proud of your comments about our friendly yet professional environment, exceptional level of service and attention to details. We are all looking forward to be welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana in the near future. P.S. Thank you for liking us on FB.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
541
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Rossano and Bianca have created an absolutely perfect retreat on the Garden Route. We stayed for two nights in the uppermost suite (Nietze) with a fantastic view over the water and Knysna Heads in the distance. The interior decor has been created by someone with great taste (Bianca presumably or is that sexist). Breakfast was superb and we chose to have it on our own balcony. It's a 20-25 minute walk from the waterfront restaurants and there is a list of them in the room. Taxi back was 60 rand. Extra little touches included our car being washed and ice cold face towels at the pool.We are quite fussy about acommodation, cleanlieness, food, views etc and this place is faultless.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank topdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear TopdocGlasgow
Thank you for your absolutely perfect review, especially in regards of our standard of services and décor. We are looking forward to be welcoming you again at Villa Afrikana in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nobody can fault the incredible service at this very pretty guest house. The staff anticipates your needs and is incredibly pleasant as well. Breakfast is plentiful and good. Rooms are attractive and large, with comfy chairs for reading). Views of the laguna are lovely.
Bianca and Ross and helpful and friendly. If I had to be at all critical, I'd mention that if you are on the first level (which we were), you will hear those staying above you. Our upstairs neighbours had a child of around 12 and there were many times we heard her - luckily, however, not late at night. I'd also suggest that there might be a better way to block early morning sun than with blinds - those two things said, you'll still enjoy staying at this lovely place!

Room Tip: Upper levels will be quieter and also have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear OttawaCatLady
Thank you for your wonderful review praising our incredible level of service and wonderful staff.
We value your constructive criticism and suggestions which help us define and fine tune our product to the benefit and overall satisfaction of our guests. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us, we cannot stress enough how important it is for us to be told or alerted of any discomfort experienced by our guests during their stay and promptly resolve it.

Thank you again for choosing and recommending Villa Afrikana. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Villa Afrikana

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a wonderful two day stay at Villa Afrikana. We wished we could have stayed longer. There is a reason why Villa Afrikana is the #1 accommodation in Knysna. The attention to detail of Ross and Bianca ensure an enjoyable stay. Breakfast is very delicious and plentiful. The room was very clean and comfortable. You will definitely want to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Cadream1n
We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Afrikana. We are looking forward to have here for longer in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I arrived at Villa Afrikana on Sunday late afternoon, after a drive from Port Elizabeth. We were immediately blown away by the design of the Villa, and the services rendered to us! As it was my wife's birthday, we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Suite on the highest level! Our rented car was also given a nice scrub to remove the grimes that were on the car body from the drive :)

In the Suite, we had the best view over the lagoon, and were able to enjoy our glasses of white wine and strawberries coated with chocolates! Before we go to bed, we indicated our breakfast choices and hung the note outside our door. The next morning, our delicious sumptuous breakfast was brought to our room!

The Villa is truly deserving of its 5 stars rating, and due to our itinerary, we could only stay 1 night, but we do recommend a minimum 2 nights stay to enjoy the full hospitality by Villa Afrikana!

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor room for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear declanLim
Thank you so much for the wonderful review; we are delighted you’ve enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Afrikana. We hope to have you staying again for your birthday in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Fantastic views, directly through the Heads so you can see the waves breaking, and over the lagoon, this is a world class guesthouse with hospitable and on-the-ball owner-hosts providing some awesome local flavour and European flair. Our suite was fantastic, and the others look easily as good. Great position within town for restaurants and sites. Great tourist advice and information, from eating to Bungy Jumping the world's highest commercial jump at Bloukrans, to mountain bike trails to golfing, Bianca and Ross will ably assist. Spent lots of time in Knysna, and this place is tops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Wking21
Thank you for highlighting in details your experience while staying with us at Villa Afrikana. Would you believe that we actually had Whales coming through the Heads and into the Lagoon the other day, it was an amazing occurrence. We sincerely hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I and my wife stayed one night at the Noetzie Suite in Villa Afrikana. We saw on the web that this place is rated as the No. 1 place to stay in Knysna ......... very soon we could understand why that is so. The suite was big and modern (with a jacuzzi tub), the staff some of the friendliest that we have ever encountered, the views of the lagoon from the 2nd floor suite's balcony was unbeatable, excellent breakfast delivered to the room, but most important of all, Bianca and Ross made us feel as if we were visiting friends & not checking in to a hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor to enjoy the best view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaNetwork, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear JQMFC
Thank you for the great review. As you know, you are now indeed a friend and family member of Villa Afrikana. We are looking forward to have here again in the near future.

“Until we meet again”, Greetings from “Paradise”
Ross, Bianca, Steven, Beauty, Tracy, Thoko, Constance, Lovemore, Sindy

We at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads and Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing