We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice Location, perfect Service, excellent Quality of breakfest.
We will stay there again, when we come with friends in this area.
The Price of accomodation is in good relation to the Service you get there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Every form of accommodation should measure themselves against Villa Afrikana. Not only in South Africa, but world wide. It is faultless. It is perfection. We promised to be back and we were! This time we treated our elderly parents as well. It was November 2013 so apologies for the late review.
This was our second visit and we stayed three nights. We had Owner's and Gouna Suites. We were on the second floor and had adjoining rooms. In the mornings we had breakfast on my parents' balcony. You can however have it downstairs on the balcony or in the dining room. The breakfasts are legendary!! Both times we were there in summer. The views are incredible. We also enjoyed the pool this time round. Lots to do and see in Knysna and surrounds. Taxi services can be arranged and it is dirt cheap and very clean. Our favourite eating area was the Marina for meals.
I would rather pay a bit extra and get the super service and luxury that Villa Afrikana offers. There is but nothing to complain about. Nothing and I mean nothing is too much trouble. The little things for me is what makes a stay worthwhile. Complimentery bottle of wine, choccies, flowers on your pillow etc. a big thank you for our books on SA and the Garden Route - what an incredibly beautiful thought. This is a gem and it is to be experienced. Ross, Bianca and their always smiling staff - we wish you the very best and a big, big thank you.

Room Tip: Right on top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

No words or praise are enough for this fabulous boutique hotel. The warm welcome from Bianca and Ross, their attention to every detail to ensure their guests are comfortable and happy is an absolute credit to them and their delightful staff. Booking of restaurants and arranging for taxis all comes within the great service they offer and nothing is too much trouble. The Phantom suite was perfect for me, my wife and 19 year old daughter, giving her the privacy she wanted but knowing mum and dad were in the next room. As we had another delicious breakfast on our terrace, champagne and cakes plus a rendition of Happy Birthday for my wife was a lovely touch.
Bianca and Ross make a point of saying goodbye to all their guests and If ever we return to Knysna this is where we will stay, there is no point in looking at anywhere else.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floor will give you fantastic views of the lagoon and Knysna Heads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 141AndyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for two days. The service of the whole team was extraordinary: warm, attentive and extremely helpful. Wonderful welcome, superb breakfast on your own balcony with breathtaking views - great rooms/suites - a wonderful experience. We will surely reckommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Absolutely loved this place! Wish we had a bit more time to spend there. The staff is amazing as well as the owners, bianca & Ross. We enjoyed everything from service to comfort. The hotel is also a very convenient location. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kika2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for my husbands birthday and Rossano & Bianca and the team made it a very special occasion! We arrived late on Friday evening to a personal welcome from Rossano and very friendly staff who showed us to our room which was beautifully decorated with rose petals strewn on the bed, fresh flowers in the room and a chilled bottle of bubbly!

My assessment of hotels and guesthouses always weigh in the quality of breakfast as I am gluten intolerant. On this occasion, faultless! We had a champagne breakfast on the balcony looking out over the Knysna heads - with complimentary birthday cupcakes and poached eggs on gluten-free toast!!

Bianca had plenty of suggestions of things we could do to enjoy the weekend and to crown everything, it turns out these two have a vast knowledge of South African wines too - they introduced us to our now favorite red blend - 3 Bins from Kaapzicht which is the recommended 'house red' @ Villa Afrikana.

The whole house is very tastefully decorated and newly refurbished and it seemed like each room has a private balcony. We didn't use the pool as it was a little chilly on the weekend we were there but it looked awesome; well kept, clean and crystal clear water. We will have to go back at some point to go try it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MiemieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in many amazing places during our 10 nights in South Africa, and Villa Afrikana was another class. We called ahead and arrived a night early and weren't disappointed. It's very special from the moment you arrive. Ross and Bianca are first class hosts, and they have an amazing team who really don't let you lift a finger. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both with breathtaking views, and breakfast on your own terrace is a real treat. Book and enjoy.... A special thank you to Thoko who was a real delight! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £133 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing