We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

Thank you so much for our wonderful honeymoon! Bianca and Ross run the most spectacular guest house, and it was a dream come true. All the restaurant recommendations were wonderful and the rooms were beautiful! We will, without a doubt, be going back again and again.

Jarno & Lyndall - JHB, South Africa

  • Liked — Everything :)
  • Disliked — Nothing :)
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Onraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
533
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Villa Afrikana towards the end of our trip in South Africa, and although the journey to Knysna was longer than we had anticipated, arriving at the Villa Afrikana made it worthwhile. Although the service we received was slightly more formal than other places we had stayed on the Cape, it was still warm and friendly, and Bianca especially was extemely personable. They have a background in the luxury cruise industry and this really comes through in the little touches in your suite and in the service provided. Our suite (Noetzie) was huge, with a large bathroom. The whole suite was spotlessly clean with a large quality bed with excellent linens. A particular highlight was the breakfast served on the terrace by their excellent staff which was the perfect start to the day- the fruit plate alone is worthy of special mention!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keepcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carletonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed at Villa Afrikana for ten wonderful days.We were greeted at our car,full of sweat from the long drive.What a nice surprise to walk into our suite,we were blown away.Everything was crisp clean all dressed in white.All the small tokens in the room to show that you are cared for were very much appreciated.It was a shock to us to find the room in perfect condition every time we would get back from an outing.Ross and Bianca were the perfect hosts.We feel that we were spoiled rotten with all the breakfasts that Steven served us.We left there with many more kilo"s around the waistline.Ross was always keen to help us whenever we want to go and explore Knysna.We visit four of the five main restaurants in Knysna.The best one for us was 34 Degrees at the Waterfront.Excellent restaurant ,especially for woman,while the husbands drink their beer,you can shop.Sadly after ten days we had to go home,we miss Villa Afrikana.I have.inserted a photo of the Knysna elephant baby.Armand and Hettie.South Africa.

  • Liked — everything,exept the driveway.
  • Disliked — Leaving it all behind
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alblasserdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We have been there 4 times now and Ross and Bianca made us addicted to Villa Afrikana. Their hospitality, the view, the rooms, their staff, the breakfast, just everything is perfect!! It really feels like paradise.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

Unfortunately for us, we rushed through Knysna in one day and only had one night with Bianca and Ross in Villa Afrikana, and what a shame that was. We wished we could have stayed longer.

They are fantastic hosts. Very engaging and passionate about their business. They have a wonderful guest house that rivals any five star hotel rooms for luxury and comfort, and the views of the lagoon are absolutely breathtaking first thing in the morning when the mist is still sitting just a few feet above the water.

There were four of us staying and we were well looked after. Having had dinner at Pezula, which was really good, but left us a little cold, I think we were all very happy to be returning to Villa Afrikana for the night. There was just something so warm and inviting about the house.

If ever I am back in the Garden Route, I'll be booking more than one night here. It's a great place to stay. Great hosts, great staff (Steven looked after us well).

  • Liked — Location, rooms, finishing touches
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Great_Dane_Dillema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

We didn’t think our time along the Garden Route could get any better and then we arrived in Knysna – specifically at the Villa Afrikana Guest Suites!!

We explored Knysna the first day (paradise on earth!!!) but decided to have a quiet night in on the second. Our suite was pure luxury and between the heated tile floors in the bathroom with a huge free standing bath over looking spectacular views- there was no need to leave!

Bianca and Ross are simply the most welcoming hosts, they have immense passion & pride for what they do and it's obvious from the moment you meet them to the time they wave good bye!

  • Liked — Views, Bathroom, breakfast on our own balcony!!!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Garden Route was the last leg of our South Africa Journey and it couldn’t have been better. This place is a complete heaven on earth and far exceeds any holiday experience that one can have.Knyasa is a lovely paradise by the lagoon with beautiful greens and a great small town feel about it.

As we entered Knyasa we drove up the top of the hill to find this beautiful place draped in white. We entered Villa Afrikana wrapped in luxury and fine living with everything anyone can ask for. The rooms are very well done (immaculately clean) and everything that can ensure a luxurious stay and comfort has been provided for. The bathrooms were awesome with heated floors and a few baths even have a jacuzzi . Most rooms have a balcony facing the lagoon and you can have your breakfast served there. The breakfast was another high point and was customized to our needs each day - served piping hot. For a Rainy day there are loads of great books and DVDs to pick from. In fact we were glad that it rained that we stayed back and enjoyed the property. It is much more than a 5-star experience !

The service was fabulous and the hosts, Bianca and Ross made sure that our stay was a superlative experience. Wish we had more days there!

  • Liked — Decor & Food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ParulVirenKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing