We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Wooburn Green
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

This really is a 5 star guest house. Ross, Bianca and their team could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one.
The suites are superb, modern, spacious, very clean and very well appointed.
The "honesty" bar is well stocked and views from the lounge and terrace are breath taking.
If you're visiting Knysna there's no where else you should look to stay

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
533
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

(During our trip to South Africa we stayed in Kichaka Game Lodge (near Grahamstown), Villa Afrikana (Knysna), Akadamie Street (Franschhoek) and Atlantic View,(Camps Bay). Reviews for each can be found on Tripadvisor.)

After a two-hour plus drive from PE airport along the Garden Route we arrived at Knysna, our base to explore the area for the next three days. Villa Afrikana is a boutique B&B and is located in Paradise, an area on the hill overlooking Knysna Bay and the Heads.

Our host, Bianca, was immensely welcoming and the B&B (which she renovated with her partner) is beautiful and immaculate. We stayed in the ‘Owners’ Suite’, which is a decent size with double doors to a large terrace overlooking the bay below. The room is well equipped (albeit lacking a little in storage space in the bathroom) and we found it extremely comfortable, especially lying on the bed with a cup of tea reading a book or just looking at the view. Our room also had the added benefit of a separate entrance.

Breakfast is a relaxed affair. A menu is left each evening with a large choice of hot and cold options, juices, teas, etc, which can either be served in your room, on your terrace or at the communal table in the guests’ lounge at a variety of times between 8am and 10am. We chose our terrace each time as it is just a fabulous way to start the day.

Bianca is also very informative and helpful in recommending places of interest, restaurants, cab firms, spas, etc and made all of the arrangements on our behalf. She really is a generous host.

The guests’ lounge is filled with books and DVDs and a wonderful reading chair and stool in front of a picture window with views out toward the bay. There is also an honesty bar should you wish to use it and full tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The outside pool looked nice although we have to admit that we didn’t try it, being too busy exploring the surrounding area. We wouldn’t hesitate in staying here again when we next travel to the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPCLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We loved our stay at Villa Afrikana. Ross and Bianca as well as all the staff were great! The views of the suite is wonderfull. We strongly recomend it. Real 5 star level of service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianchibruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Fantastic place, fantastic owners. A great place with very nice golf courses, restaurants and fun place to visit.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeloBalbi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Villa Afrikana is a wonderful place up on the hill in Knysna with a beautiful view over the Lagoon. The breakfasts on our balcony overlooking the lagoon and Kynsna Heads were awesome. We could choose each evening how wed like our breakfast on the next day. The service was excellent with attentive staff.
Our room (Owners Suite) had a private entrance with a staircase to the patio. The room was light and clean and had a very elegant interior. Bianca and Ross were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights while we visited Knysna and Plettenburg Bay. We thoroughly enjoyed it and the hosts make you feel very welcome without intruding on your space. Nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail is first class. Although this guest house (although i would describe it as more of a boutique hotel) is up the hill from Knsna centre itsel, it is only a 20 minute walk down the hill and 2 minute taxi back up. We were glad we had stayed in this area as opposed to the town centre as the views were amazing and this was the best accomodation that we could find in Knysna itself that ticked all of our boxes. Give Villa Afrikana a go and you won't be disappointed! ps - the breakfasts were amazing......

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Fantastic accomodation, excellent staff, we had a fantastic time and are sure to return.
The Spear family

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVSPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing