We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb hotel, fantastic views, and amazing hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A superb hotel, fantastic views, and amazing hospitality”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We arrvived after a 4 hour drive and were met by Bianca and Ross who arranged for tea on the terrace within moments of our arrival. this superb level of care and attention continued for our stay here.
Our room was fantastic, so comfortable and we enjoyed a glass of port sitting on our balcony.
Ross helped us by booking our restaurants and discussing our plans for the day, great advice was given.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
541
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We loved our stay at Villa Afrikana. Ross and Bianca as well as all the staff were great! The views from the suite are wonderful. Real 5 star level of service with lots of little extra touches that make the stay special. Breakfasts superb, light supers are also available either in the lounge or in your suite. 20 minute walk in to town and felt safe, but a long way back up hill, so get a cab. Some very nice restaurants in town.
A special thanks to Bianca for supplying stomach remedies to me on our departure.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights while touring the garden route.

This gorgeous villa is, modern, luxurious, very spacious and tastefully decorated in contemporary African style.

We received a warm welcome on our arrival from Ross and his staff and were shown to our room on the top floor, the Nietcshe suite. The views from here are quite stunning, stretching across the waterways and town of Knysna. The suite was contemporary in style, spacious but comfortable, with a massive and luxurious bathroom, and had everything you could need [apart from fridge]. It was beautifully decorated with quality fittings and furnishings.

The service was excellent, the staff were always there to greet us on our return from outings with a smile and welcome drink, a lovely touch. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. There is secure parking, a pool and lovely outdoor sitting area. The town and waterfront areas are just a couple of minutes drive away.

Ross and Bianca were perfect hosts, there when you needed them without being intrusive. We also found them to be very generous people, gifting us a lovely book which we had unsuccessfully tried to purchase in the local stores.

Our brief stay here was a very special experience from our first visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2010

About a year ago my friends asked me to join them on a magical and rather extreme trip, I answered there question and said where to? And when they told me they were going to South Africa, there was no doubt at all – I joined…
So we saved up our money and finally booked our tickets and ended up in Knysna last summer.

We had arranged that someone could pick us up at the airport, but I never knew that the Owner of the hotel would pick us up which was great. And the first thing that came to my mind was wow that guy looks exactly like the guy in Soprano. Don’t misunderstand me, but I really like the series!
Anyway he fast tracked us through the passport control and gave us a rundown of the views and locations near Knysna. While in the car we had really good laugh and talked about everything you could imagine. He told us about the culture in South Africa and things you can do, because no matter where you visit here in Knysna, you’re really close to the indoor and outdoor activities! And the best of all, it’s true, because Hotel Africana is really close to a spectacular natural environment.

We finally arrived to the hotel around 8 pm, so it was quite dark outside, but the hotel was really beautiful at dark time, the lights shined through and created a beautiful atmosphere. And I was like, this is the place I want go for my honeymoon!

When we arrived we met up by the most amazing staff you could ever have, the smiles on their faces was amazing, and you could really feel that they like their jobs. Especially Steven and Beauty, the two staffs, that really took care of us.
The hotel was fabulous and stylish and like I mentioned before even romantic… And looked exactly like they say it does in their homepage, even better!
After the staff took our baggages to our room, we were met up by the most wonderful women, Bianca, which also is the owner. They really, really took care of us, and arranged and booked every activity we wanted do, like shark touring with The great White and Bungy jumping from the tallest bridge in the world! And also helped us to rent a car, so we could get around and do whatever we feel liked to do.
The rooms were excellent, stylish and modern furnished and you really felt amazing and unique. But best of all was the view. You could relax on your balcony or at the outside lounge, while slipping on your favorite beverage and enjoy a stunning sunset while watching over the lagoon. And best place to enjoy this, I think, was from our room, the Phantom Suite.
I really had good time in South Africa, but I didn’t know it would be this great and awesome. Thanks a lot to Ross and Bianca for everything, and also a big thanks to the staff for making this trip worth dying for!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimayaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pian di Sco, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Wonderfully appointed suites with a breathless view on the Knysna lagoon, this is really a place we would recommend.
Bright rooms, very comfortable beds, underfloor heating in the large bathrooms, with all the amenities you could need.
The staff are friendly, kind and very efficient; breakfast is really great, with a wide choice of specialities.
A swimming-pool and a parking are also provided.
On the "Paradise" hill, it's in an ideal position to visit Knysna and the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Hello everybody!

I must start with, to tell all how nice South Africa really is, the landscape, Ocean, People and ofcourse the animals.
Me and my friends went to South Africa in the last week of FIFA World Cup, and staied for two and a half week in Knysna at Villa Afrikana.
The first thing that stroke me when we entered the hotel was how nice all the furnishier were, and the hole surroundings were perfect.
Steven (Guest Steward) was helpning us with our bags to the room with a big smile on his lips, and helped us very much through our hole stay in Villa Afrikana.
The staff was allways very helpfull and the room service where perfect. The breakfast had so many options so there were a new thing for everyday.
The owners Bianca and Ross checked us up so everything was att tiptop, Bianca and Ross helped us to rent car, book in white shrak safari and many more things.
We stayed in the Phantom suite, it was big, clean, very nice furnishier, wonderful beds. And allways the glad and happy staff.
To be honest if you ever travel to Knysna you must stay att Villa Afrikana.
I’m allready planing for the next visit.


Tank you for the hole stay Bianca and Ross and ofcourse the rest of the Staff

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Afrikana to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my birthday. We had an incredible time and were super impressed with the quality of rooms, decor, service and finishing touches. Bianca and Rossco are attentive and generous hosts -- they gifted us cupcakes for my birthday and sparkling wine with chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary. Villa Afrikana is ideally situated and my husband and I enjoyed our morning strolls around the neighborhood after long and delicious breakfasts on the veranda. We would love the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srb93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing