We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

As mentioned before Bianca and Ross's welcome is second to none, the decor of the Villa is pristine, and I loved the clean African decor except I took exception to getting out of bed every morning to stand on springbok fur. The views from the room were fabulous and we could have easily sat on the balcony for 2 weeks. We unfortunately had dodgy weather and the lagoon looked like Loch Ness for much of our stay, but it was still a fabulous vista.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
524
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Afrikana as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We had driven a long way from Swellendam and arrived mid afternoon, tired and hungry. We received a warmwelcome and champagne and chocolates were brought to our room where we unwound on our terrace overlooking Knysna Head. An excellent first impression and that remained throughout our stay.
The accomodation was tasteful, comtemporary and showed incredible attention to detail. Everything was in immaculate condition and the villa felt homely, helped along by the friendly and happy hosts and staff.

The option to select what you wanted for breakfast the evening before and then brought up to your room at the time you chose the following morning to then be served on the terrace was very intimate and relaxing.

I have one very minor comment to make and that is due to the accoustics in the building (created by porcelain floors throughout and lack of 'soft furnishings'), when guests departed early in the morning the sound reverberated through the room making a lie in a little difficult unless you were a heavy sleeper. However, this does not stop me highly recommending Villa Afrikana!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Afrikana for our honeymoon. We were greeted by Rossano and his wife Bianca. Both were very hospitable and made our honeymoon very memorable - the guest house was so comfortable and had a fantastic view - it was almost a shame to leave it to go anywhere else during the day. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

After enjoying two weeks in beautiful South Africa we realize some of our most relaxing and enjoyable moments were in Paradise at Ross & Bianca's Villa Afrikana. The spectacular view from our suite along with the spacious and elegant charm of the property itself were surpassed only by Ross & Bianca and their staff. Every detail has been carefully and lovingly attended to--from a personal and friendly welcome (along with champagne & strawberries!) to their immaculately cared for home with every room designed to highlight the view of Knysna's bay and the ocean. My wife loved the gentle, yet efficient quality of service, heated floors in the bathroom and she looked forward to different chocolates on our pillows at night. I was grateful to Ross for serving as our unofficial tour planner. For our early morning drive back to Cape Town, Bianca prepared the most fantastic lunch for us to take along. With every bite, I was reminded of our new favorite spot in Paradise--Villa Afrikana.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Ross, Bianca, & staff-- in addition to the superb quality of our room and the villa's grounds-- made our stay nothing short of perfection. Had our itinerary not already been tightly planned, we without doubt would have stayed an additional night or two. If you're passing through Knysna... stop and stay a while. And be sure to do it at Villa Afrikana.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSet1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We arrived at the top of the hill to a warm and friendly greeting and, as we were guided attentively through the hotel to our room, we were blown away by the sheer style and presence of all of the spaces. It is very impressive, though not in the least intimidating or overpowering. Gorgeous decor everywhere. The room was very spacious and comfortable with everything you could possibly wish for. Not a thing has been forgotten and everything is very thoughtfully and beautifully presented. The view from the balcony over the bay towards the Heads is to die for. There can be nothing better than sitting there on a sunny South African morning eating the wonderful breakfast looking out as the boats move in and out. We had a happy, relaxed stay at what must be one of, if not the best hotel we've ever stayed at, and we've stayed at many. We've never had our car washed on the morning of our leaving before! That was the final attentive touch that took this hotel to another level. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmartin186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed at this excellent villa with two more couples. Service was excellent throughout from the hosts as well as the staff. Shame could not stay longer as whole itinerary was pre planned.

All the rooms are of exceptionally high standard as is the villa throughout.

Would like to go again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
5.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.4 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Property: Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Address: 13 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#2 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Afrikana Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrikana Guest Hotel Knysna
Hotel Afrikana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing