We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in every way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knysna Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knysna Manor House
Ranked #47 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
“A Gem in every way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Amazing hosts in both Brenda and Anthony! Brenda went the extra mile in making us welcome and comfortable.
The room was clean, comfortable and lacked nothing.
Central location was extremely convenient, and close to everything.
Amazing breakfast scores a perfect 10!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Wow Judi, it is great to hear that Anthony and Brenda are still enjoying themselves by showing their hospitality towards our guests. I agree with you that they go out of their way to make guests feel at home, and that is what we strive to achieve.

The breakfast is amazing, and when I manage to get down to the most beautiful part of the world, I thoroughly enjoy eating my breakfast out on the deck, whilst watching the amazing views of the Knysna Lagoon.

I thank you for your positive response, and I am sure that Anthony and Brenda will be waiting to welcome either you or your friends back to Knysna Manor House in the future.

All the best for the festive season.
Gail Dalton
Owner
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    106
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
63
77
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I real like the hotel location and its safety, the service was good too. however i did not like the situation of not changing the bed sheet all the time of my stay in 4 days. otherwise everything was good and i liked it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jovita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I will address the issue of the sheets with the management.

Kind regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijnje
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a nice stay at Knysna Manor house.
Because of our little boy they upgraded our room to a family room, without extra costs. Perfect! The view is beautiful, just a couple of minutes downhill walk to the centre and the lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am so glad that Anthony and Brenda could accommodate your needs without extra expense. We strive to make our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna Manor House in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely hotel run by a very nice couple. The rooms are very well decorated and extremely comfortable. the owners Brenda and Anthony, are more than happy to offer advice on such things as where to go and eat etc. The breakfast is really good and there is a bar that is open all day and night.

Room Tip: first floor seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Anthony and Brenda do go out of their way to make guests feel at home. I am glad that you took advantage of the wealth of advise that they have to offer, and also that you enjoyed the Honesty Bar.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Manor is a building with lots of character, comfortable beds and old style/antique furniture. You can sense the history of the place.
The owners really care for the comfort and safety of the guests.
Located in a quiet street parallel tot the main street (shops etc.).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Good Evening Anne-Marie,

So many of our guests find the character and history of Knysna Manor House, and we are so glad that you found your stay comfortable and that your hosts, Anthony and Brenda were helpful.

We appreciate that you took the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards
Gail Dalton
Knysna Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Knysna Manor House is the ideal stop over location for travelling the Garden route between the Eastern Cape (Port Elizabeth or East London) & Cape Town. Ideally situated in the town central within easy reach of all the restaurants, shops and sites. The management, Anthony & Brenda are excellent hosts and ensure that your stsy is excellent. The breakfasts are grest and the "honesty bar" is fairly priced. Hihly recommrnded.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Malcom,

All that I can say was that it was a pleasure hosting you yet again, thank you for taking the time to review us. Our guests comments are very important to us.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our family had a fantastic 5 night stay here. Brenda and Anthony made us feel very welcome in the comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated rooms of this beautiful historical manor house. The location is perfect with many restaurants and shops etc within walking distance and it was an ideal base for exploring, by car, the many surrounding places of interest along the Garden Route. The full english breakfasts were delicious. We really appreciated the extra tips, advice and knowledge of the area given by our lovely hosts who go out of their way to look after you. We would highly recommend a stay here and would definitely return ourselves if we ever get the chance again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Good Evening Tia,

Thank you so much for firstly choosing Knysna Manor House for your base whilst touring the amazing Garden Route.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding your whole experience. Anthony and Brenda are the most perfect hosts, and I can confirm that they do go out of their way to make guests experiences pleasurable.

We do hope that that we can welcome you or your friends back in the near future.

Kind Regards from Sunny South Africa
Gail Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#18 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#30 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#43 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 13 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Property: Knysna Manor House
Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing