We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay in the garden route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Footprints of Knysna
Ranked #20 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble on Mary woolmington's delightful self catering establishment in the wonderfully named suburb of Old Place in Knysna,it has the most glorious views of the lagoon and heads,from very comfortable self contained apartments with all mod cons.
We had 4 great days and spent some time relaxing by the sparkling pool,
enjoying the sunshine ,views and the birds in the beautiful gardens.
We would recommend anyone to stay with Mary and explore the quaint old town of Knysna and the delights of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: would recommend the Cabin,has a great veranda with spectacular views and a barbecue and loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I travel allot in the Western Cape area and stayed at a number of places , but Forget me Not has so far exceeded all my expectations I enjoy the calm and tranquillity , The garden setting and the most amazing view by far , The welcoming I received from my first stay has bee excellent . I will always book my stay at Forget me Not , It feels more like home then my own houses .
Ten out of Ten overall

Room Tip: The "Nest" is the ideal room with all of the acquired amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you Jack. We look forward to seeing you again, and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Forget-Me-Not for a very pleasant relaxing week. We most enjoyed our meals on the balcony overlooking Knysna Lagoon. We were even allowed to bring our little poodle. A very hospitable establishment and a very friendly and helpful hostess.

Lutz N

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutz234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for the review, appreciate your time. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in the "Cabin" with our three kids for three nights and loved the place. In addition to being in a great location, super clean, well maintained and well appointed what really made the stay lovely was the owner Mary. She was welcoming, kind, friendly with our kids and very helpful. A real treat to deal with. One of our best experiences on our current extended travels to date!

I haven't even mentioned how great the garden area was with the pool. My kids didn't want to leave the grounds!

If you are coming to Knysna you shouldn't look any further!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you Karl and family. It was very special to have you and I am so pleased you had meaningful stay. Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed for the whole month of February, and had a wonderful and relaxing time, my air conditioned Rose apartment was clean and comfortable, the garden and pool were really special, the view was exceptional, I was treated like on of the family by Gwen and Dave, I would recommend Forget -me-not for a great relaxing holiday, In the beautiful village of Knysna with its easy access to the Garden Route and all its attractions.
Graham Nicholls
Brentwood
Essex

Room Tip: The nest has the best view, but the cabin and Rose also have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryDerek, Owner at Footprints of Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hey Kim, thanks for the review, sorry the bed was not right for you. I am now asking every guest in that room if the bed was comfortable and if I get another (?) it will be changed. Best regards. Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My fiance and I stayed in a self-catering apartment in early May 2013 called "The Nest". The apartment was very comfortable, with a lovely deck and views out over the lagoon and towards the Heads, although they are some distance away. The location of the B&B is great in that it is a few minutes drive to the Knysna centre, about 5 mins to the Waterfront, 5 - 7 mins to the Eastern Head and 10 minutes to Pezula golf course. The apartment was very clean and neat with a good sized bathroom with both a bath and shower. Although we never prepared any meals in the apartment or ate there, it seemed that everything you would need to do so was in the kitchen. We never met Mary and Derek as they were in Jo'burg when we were there, but David was lovely and helpful and friendly without being too "in your face", which we like.

On the downside, and the reason for our rating of a 4 rather than a 5, was because we didn't find the bed terribly comfortable. It seems to perhaps be an older bed that doesn't have modern "technology" in the springs /coils and as such, when your partner moves around, the whole bed wobbles and I found that I was getting woken up very easily. Unfortunately, that detracted from our stay somewhat as we love a good nights sleep. But, having said that, no-one else seems to have commented on this and so maybe we are slightly lighter sleepers than others. But both my fiance and I had the same problem so I'm not sure.

Do visit Knysna and enjoy all that it has to offer! It is a stunning little town, with a great and varied choice of restaurants, things to do and golf courses. And if you do visit, a stay at Forget-Me-Not will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Sadly we did not meet Mary and Derek as they were visiting family during our stay but we were in the very capable hands of their friends Dave and Gwen. We stayed for 6 nights in the Cabin which we found to be very clean and comfortable and as other visitors have said with wonderful views of the lagoon. Just one little critisism. It is one room, all be it a very large room, with no division between the cooking and sleeping areas, not ideal. It does however have a lovely balcony, gardens and pool so we still feel confident to recommend it.

Room Tip: Take insect repellant with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#7 of 107 in Knysna
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#37 of 129 in Knysna
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints of Knysna

Address: 21 Boekenhout Avenue | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly Forget-me-Not)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Footprints of Knysna 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint and quirky establishment with its sloping slate roof and dormer windows offers a relaxed 'home from home'. All accommodation has views of the garden, lagoon and Knysna Heads. Open, friendly and helpful owners on site. All units have full en-suite bathrooms, private decks with Braai and easy access to our large secluded garden and sparkling pool. Secure parking. Rooms serviced daily, DSTV and free WiFi. “Heads Up” – a spacious upper level apartment (2/3 sleeper) with amazing views; “Down to Earth” lower level apartment – Family room (4 sleeper) A practical and unpretentious family room an the cozy romantic "Featherbed Studio" double with kitchenette Footprints of Knysna is set away from the N2 highway in a quiet suburb, but located just a five minute drive from Knysna’s bustling town, vibrant waterfront, architect-inspired Thesen Harbour Town and peaceful Leisure Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Footprints of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing