We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional accommodation”
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #41 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodation”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here 5 nights and were very sorry to have to leave. We had studio 2 which was huge. Marion and David really have thought of everything to make visitors comfortable. The rooms are modern and fresh with touches of Africa in the colour scheme and decor which were sadly missing from some of our other accommodation on our trip. We can recommend the local pub/eatery, Mo's where I had the best non-stodgy thin crust pizza I have eaten in ages.
When we return to Knysna in the future Armadillo will be our first port of call. The location in a residential area may not suit those looking to be in the town but it meant that, unusually, we slept solidly for 7 or 8 hours each night in the peace and quiet

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thanks a million for your wonderful review! We're so glad your enjoyed your stay with us so much. We certainly enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will return to the peace and quiet of the Armadillo one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
97
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

3 nights at this hotel was great fab facilities very friendy english owned , rooms apartment everything u need while traveling iron hairdryer full kitchen facilities and really cosy well recommended excellent garden area and pool ,could not fault this family owned hotel

Room Tip: great location great hosts what more can one say well done ,english owned,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Gosh, we've never been referred to as a hotel before - it makes us feel very grand! Many thanks for your kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed the accommodation and surroundings at the Armadillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed two nights at these studios which are really spacious, very clean and set in the most beautiful garden with a pool.

Marion welcomed us as if we were old friends and we had a drink together before heading out for dinner on her recommendation-34 Degrees North which was gorgeous.

We enjoyed brekkie next morn on the terrace, lovely view of the garden. Yummy fry with the speciality of the day-hash browns. We had a fantastic meal that night in Cruise Cafe which again was highly recommended by Marion and David.

Marion had loads of recommendations of things to do in Knysna which made planning our day so much easier.

We wished we could have stayed a week here-2 days just weren't enough!
Be sure to put this on your list if staying in Kynsna or anywhere nearby like Plettenberg Bay as it was one of the best places we stayed on our trip to South Africa!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_koala_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you both so much for taking the time to write a review - we really do appreciate it. Glad you liked the home-made hash browns - we'll definitely put them on our menu more frequently. Incidentally, the restaurant you liked is called 34 Degrees South (not North...I think that would locate it in California!), but I'm sure other visitors will find it. Hope to see you guys back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Knysna is an excellent base for exploring the garden route's many attractions, and our five nights in Armadillo Studios allowed us to do this in style and comfort. During our welcoming glass of wine on the terrace, we realised that we had chanced upon something more than just superb accommodation. To get that out of the way first: the suites are excellent and spacious; Marion's breakfasts served on the terrace were delicious. But it was the warmth of welcome and the opportunity to chat and relax that we found special.
Marion and David have achieved a rare balance between being hosts and being friends. From the smiley face welcome board to the farewell wave, the atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and caring: something you cannot achieve in a hotel.
The large garden was a delight: the beautiful planting; the birds waiting for David's morning treats; even the rowdy hadeda ibis sitting on the roof; a lovely pool for warmer days.
If we ever should find ourselves back in Knysna, we will be looking no further than Armadillo Studios.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you SO much for the glowing review! We're particularly glad you enjoyed the birdlife in our garden - it's amongst the best free entertainment around and it's lovely to know that guests appreciate it. We read your contribution to the South Africa Forum - it really is excellent and I'm sure it's of great value to would-be visitors to this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in a number of places along the Garden Route but Armadillo Studios was the best. You'll be greeted by the most friendly, welcoming and helpful host, Marion (who is also the owner) who really made us feel at home from the moment we rang the bell. The breakfasts on the verandah are excellent (ask for the pancakes!) and on top of that the overall value, quality of the accommodation and facilities was the best. Stay here (you won't be disapointed) and then come back for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review - we're still blushing! We strive to offer the best possible value - especially in these troubled economic times and always like to treat guests as if they were friends. This is not hard to do when we have the pleasure of welcoming so many nice, interesting people from all over the world. Long may it continue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From the moment we walked through the door we knew we made the right choice! Marion and David made us feel at home immediately, and make excellent recommendations for things to do and see in the area. They even offered us discounted greenfees at nearby Pezula, which was an absolute bonus! Although we did have a very nice kitchen (we stayed in Studio 3), we opted for Marion's delicious breakfast, which was a treat every day!
I'm sure we will be back, and will certainly recommend Armadillo Studios to any of our friends going that way!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSmithinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

When I recently had family and friends stay with me for a celebration we couldn't accommodate all of them at our home and decided to place them in a local guest house. Marion Mack certainly looked after them in style at Armadillo Studios! She was accommodating, friendly and made them feel extremely welcome. They said that the rooms were very private, comfortable and well appointed. They enjoyed it so much that they have asked to be booked in there again when they come back next year! So much for family loyalty eh?! Anyway - thank you Marion for going that extra mile for my family.

Room Tip: My family stayed in all the suites and were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyDKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.0 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
19.8 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
151 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Property: Armadillo Studios
Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Armadillo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing