We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #50 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Marion and David are lovely hosts and made us feel hugely welcome from the moment we arrived. The studios/ apartments are clean and comfortable with nice touches. The garden setting is beautiful and peaceful and Knysna itself is a nice chilled place to spend a few days. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We're so glad you chose Armadillo Studios as your base in Knysna - and very pleased you found it a 'home from home'. We do try to provide as many little comforts as possible and it's good to know that they're appreciated. Hope to welcome you back 'home' again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We were there 18-20th May and were made very welcomed by Marion and David.The apartment was up to expectations for the 4 of us and we were able to watch Chelsea win the Champions league cup on tv.WiFi was available at a charge and we were able to retrieve and send emails.We were out most of the time and did not try their cooked breakfast.The highlight of our trip in Knysna was walking with the elephants in the sanctuary east of town.A video of your trip there costs 2000rand and we were happy to pay that as it was reasonable.At 3250 rand each adult, it was not cheap but it was a once in a lifetime experience and it helps the upkeep of the elephants in the sanctuary.Do go and have a look at the 216m highest bungy jump in the world east of plettenberg.Storms river is only for nature lovers,the studios are on the way to view Knysna heads of the lagoon.You will need a car to cover the distance.we did 2300 km in 11days vising Inverdoorn,Oudtshoorn,Knysna ,Plettenberg and back to Capetown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ket888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Many thanks indeed for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you all & celebrating Chelsea's famous victory! We hope to welcome you again one of these days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during a short tour of the Garden Route. From the very first moment we were made to feel extremely welcome by Marion and David, the owners. They have done a wonderful job developing their home and gardens and have created a really lovely place to stay. Our 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely delightful, very well furnished, appointed and maintained. We loved it and we're sorry that we were unable to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukajoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

What a lovely review! Thank you so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here & that you liked David's paintings & photos - he was very pleased! We really enjoyed getting to know you & hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay of 12 nights in the self-catering apartment at Armadillo. The facilities were of high quality and the gardens, pools and setting were lovely. Marion and David looked after us very well and our rooms were serviced daily (with linen changed every two days) thanks to Dot. Everything certainly lived up to the excellent reviews we’d read on Tripadvisor. Without hesitation we’d stay at Armadillo if we visit Knysna again,

We had thought 12 days might be too long in Knysna, especially as we’d been before. But we found plenty to occupy ourselves, either visiting local places, frequenting the many excellent eating hostelries, or just relaxing by the pool.

Thank you both

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_and_Liz_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

We're so glad that you both enjoyed your extended stay with us. 12 days just flies by (for us, at least) when we have such super guests! You'll be welcomed back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What can you say about Armadillo and Marion & David? They definitely go the extra mile. So welcoming, glad we had booked 5 nights but it should have been more. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable even providing a hi-fi & cd’s, fridge with everything you could need. Laundry was left in the morning and ready in our room on return. Breakfasts were first class different every day. It rained for some of our time here and on the first day on sunshine as we sat by the pool Marion every appeared with Ice Creams!! Plenty to do in this area lots of choice for restaurants in the evening. Go and visit Armadillo you won’t regret it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolsybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks you so much for your kind words. We're always sorry for our guests when it rains, but I remember how cheerful you were about the weather! As we always say: "there's no such thing as bad weather, just unsuitable clothing!" I'm glad you appreciated our same-day laundry service & the little poolside ice cream treat when the sun eventually came out - these are just some of the small things that we hope make us a bit different from other establishments. Hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Armadillo Studios for 5 nights as part of a longer roadtrip in December. This lovely lodge is situated perfected on a residential hill away just on the outskirts of the Knysna town. The theme is green - a beautiful bird friendly garden; solar powered facilities; no chemical detergents.

We were greated like royalty when we arrived and very early on it became clear to us that central to the success of this lodge is the close involvement of the English owner, Marion, who runs the establishment with her husband, David.

We had the full self-catering apartment, which came with two spacious rooms, two large bathrooms, a spacious kitchen and quaint living room. The only issue we really had was the "musty" smell that lingered permanently and quite pungently in the apartment. I did realise that this was not due to mould but rather due to the chemicals that are used to clean the place (all rooms are certified free of mites etc). One other small challenge was that the kitchen was not equiped with an oven - nonetheless, we were able to get by with the microwave and hotplates.

We really loved the location and setting of the lodge. It was literally a 4 minute drive from the town, which was convenient, yet sufficiently far from the town to feel secluded. The lodge's setting is also one of tranquility with its natural green surroundings.

We booked the room on a special offer, but even at full price, the lodge offers good value for money. For its warm service and hospitality, attention to detail and relaxing atmosphere, Armadillo Studios is undoubtedly 4 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We're very grateful indeed for your kind review - and so glad you enjoyed your surroundings & stay at Armadillo Studios. We always welcome comments & observations from our guests and wonder why you didn't mention these issues during your stay, thus giving us the opportunity to investigate & resolve them at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

A huge thank you to Marion and David and their beautiful Armadillo Studios! We stayed four nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. The accommodation, setting, pool and hospitality were superb; it was the best stay of our whole trip. Marion and David go out of their way to help and we highly recommend Armadillo above all accommodation in Knysna!! With many thanks and best regards, Anna and Scott

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. So sorry we couldn't accommodate you for the 2 additional nights you wanted. Maybe next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#33 of 129 in Knysna
132 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
19.8 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £74 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Armadillo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing