We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque setting”
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #52 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Well planned and spacious accommodation with a very attractive garden with a swimming in nice area. It is surrounded by mature trees so looks as though there aren`t any other houses nearby. Lots of interesting birds to watch. Very friendly and hospitable owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddington_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback - and congratulations on being our 100th reviewer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fantastic hosts, fantastic setting with the garden and just exactly what i was looking for. My guest had a recent operation before coming to South Africa, so stairs was out of the question. With loads of online searching and trying to find the correct accommodation i stumbled on Armadillo Studios, but what a pleasant surprise!! Marion and David has been absolute fantastic and have been taking good care us for the 2nights and it was great. We had our privacy of leaving when we had to and we had our own entrance and exit so that we also do not invade their space and privacy. By setting things up the way they did, worked for them and also guests that will be staying there in the future. You have the option of having breakfast with views overlooking parts of Knysna Heads which is really great. Booking your stay here will be an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for a great review (and all the exclamation marks!!!) So nice to receive such positive feedback from a top Cape Town tour guide - we really appreciate it & hope to welcome you back soon with more clients touring the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife booked a 3 night stay at the Studios for my birthday, we have travelled and stayed at many places over the years. Believe me when I say this was one of the best! The accommodation was very well equipped and spotlessly clean, the gardens are stunning. Our hosts Marion & David are fantastic and made our stay very memorable for all the right reasons, they are very kind and attentive to the needs of their guests. We are really looking forward to staying with them again soon. Armadillo Studios is A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. Thanks guys. Phil & Geraldine

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philstilbaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We're very grateful for this glowing review. Thank you for choosing Armadillo Studios for your birthday weekend. I only wish we could have arranged for better weather! We'll appease the rain gods in time for your next visit, I promise. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the studio 3. The location is convenient, and in a quiet area. The garden is beautiful, and the view from the upper deck and dinning room is very nice. The studio is clean, very well equipped. The 2nd room w/ twin beds is a bit tight. For us, that like to sleep in the dark, it was a challenge. Also, we got some rain, and the studio felt kind of humid inside, once it does not have air conditioner to dry the air. The breakfast was excellent! Marion and David are a great hosts: very friendly and helpful. Just did not like the bottom part of the Guest Registration Sheet, regarding the liability... I did not sign it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaoJao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Actualy stayed there for eight nights in March 2012 - so a bit late with the review - sorry.

Mine hosts David & Marion went beyond helpful in providing a really wonderful place to stay with great facilities - almost better than home - and entertained us with just the right level of friendliness.

Incredibly helpful in planning a three night excursion to Ado Elephant reserve, and also our trip back to Cape town via Oudtshoorn, advising things to see and helping us to find places to stay.

Cannot wait to rake up enough money to go back again.

Room Tip: we had a look around all the accomodation on offer and would recommend it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom2another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our family stayed at Armadillo Studios in September. This is an excellent place to stay in Knysna. Clean, well equipped apartments. Lovely garden, which contributes to the relaxing atmosphere. Caters for family, couples or individuals. Centrally situated in Knysna. Friendly hosts, Marion and David, who goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and at home. We will definately stay at Armadillo again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks a million for your super review - it made our day! We so enjoyed meeting you all - especially your sons, who are perfect gentlemen & restored our faith in the youth of today! We very much hope to welcome you back as true 'Armadillo Amigos' one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

we stayed 3 nights in the studio 2 and had an excellent stay and a beautiful view into the garden.
David and Marion are very nice and helpful , perfect hosts .
we enjoy every minute with them and say, thanks a lot for the hospitality.
we can't await to come again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you so much! We're so pleased that you liked the Armadillo & we certainly enjoyed getting to know you & having some really interesting conversations. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Knysna in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
850 reviews
19.8 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
15 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 23 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Armadillo Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing