We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Central, Simple.”
Review of Guinea Fowl Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Ranked #57 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a lovely, relaxing stay at this venue. They very kindly checked us in early which was really convenient. Great view from our room, friendly service, very chilled.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoutItAllOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and I only stayed for 1 night and it was very nice, friendly hosts, good breakfast and close to all amenities. The room had a lot of beautiful antiques furniture in it, extremely cosy and comfortable, they will see us again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgeous010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
102112
Reviewed 20 March 2011

very nice place with much character and really lovely breakfast patio with fantastic view. this guesthouse is a little more casual then some but is filled with interesting antiques and is nicely decorated. the owners are welcoming and helpful. i thought the price was very reasonable for the level of service. we would return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I stayed in the Lodge for five nights and had a well appointed room which was very comfortable, spacious, and decorated with taste. The hosts, Piet and Mart, were very hospitable and extended a very warm welcome to me which was sustained throughout my 5 day stay. I felt right at home, but a home with all the comforts of a hotel. The breakfasts, on the deck overlooking the Knysna Quay and the famous Knysna Heads, were delicious with a variety of fruits, cereals and a wholesome cooked meal on offer. i could eat breakfast at any time - either very early or later and it was served wiht equla grace everyday. If you go to Knysna you have to stay there not only for all the above reasons, but Piet also makes a great omelette!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Mart and Pete, the owners of Guinea Fowl Lodge are exceptional hosts. We had a great time there and stayed for 3 nights. We were looking for more permanent accommodation in Knysna and Mart was extremely helpful and did everything she could to help us out, even making phone calls on our behalf. Pete regaled us with great stories of his days as a farmer in the Free State and chatted for ages with us after breakfast. The breakfast was great, and we would sit on their deck and admire the view of the heads from that wonderful vantage point. I would highly recommend Guinea Fowl Lodge if you are planning a trip to Knysna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Pete and mart made us feel extremely welcome, accomodation luxurious, breakfast was great, even for us non-meat eaters. Great advice as to what to do and see and extremely helpful. Just wish we'd had more time ...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed at the Guinea Fowl lodge about ten years ago when my husband and I did the Garden Route. When I was planning the holiday again this was the only place we said we had to stay at again. We arrived and had a warm welcome and the room we were allocated was gorgeous. Pretty big and really nicely furnished. There was lots of space for my daughter to stay in our room. The owners were absolutely lovely and really looked after us. The breakfast was great on the patio with a fabulous view. The price was also very reasonable. All in all I would highly recommend staying here. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#17 of 129 in Knysna
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#18 of 129 in Knysna
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
850 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guinea Fowl Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Fowl Lodge

Address: 13 Faure Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £51 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guinea Fowl Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing