We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guinea Fowl Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$210
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$641
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
54
21
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
21
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowldelightful hostsb blovely swimming poolinternet accessoverlooking knysnaknysna headsstayed for nightsamazing viewsdelicious breakfasthome away from homelovely placesouth africapetemartwaterfrontlagoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2009

At the top of a steep hill (especially if you walk up), but in a pleasant position with a good view of Knysna and the bay from the breakfast room. Mart and Peter really provide an excellent breakfast (arguably the best we had in 3 weeks). The rooms are rustic and comfortably furnished. Peter has a wealth of knowledge and information, and is a character! Mart has the birdlife eating out of her hands, literally, on a morning. Both are very helpful and have lots of ideas for visits and eating out etc. (The waterfront does have excellent restaurants)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at Guinea Fowl Lodge for 3 nights with our 13 year old son. Breakfast was super, sitting outside, overlooking Knysna. Pete and Mart were always ready to give us valuable information about what to do with our day. They even introduced our son to the cheese eating Knysna birds. Lots of nice reststaurants and shops in easy walking distance.
The Gosling family UK

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We stayed here for two nights in April 2008. Pete and Mart are great hosts and the rooms we had (we were a group and had 3 rooms total) were all very clean and well decorated. The room my wife and I stayed in was right off the driveway and was extremely spacious. There were two couches and two armchairs to sit in; a great room for all of us to gather and chat and reorganize all of our luggage for the trip back to the U.S.

The breakfast was great; fresh muffins (still warm) and the standard English breakfast (eggs, bacon/sasuage, mushrooms).

It would probably be a long walk to the waterfront area if you cared to try to hoof it, but it isn't out of the question. This guest house is about a block and a half off the main strip so the truck noise is out of earshot, a big advantage over the guesthouses closer to the main part of town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank daveespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

We stayed at Guinea Fowl Lodge for 2 nights during our holiday along the Garden Route. It was a lovely guesthouse - the room was luxurious with lovely old furniture and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, and all enjoyed sat on the verandah overlooking the Knysna estuary. The location was perfect - just 5 mins walk from town but away from the hustle and bustle of the main road. The hosts were very welcoming and talked through all the things we could do in the area. And great value.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews