We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a long drive from Franschhoek to Oudtshoorn and then from Oudtshoorn to Knsyna, all in 1 day. Upon reaching the lodge, we were greeted enthusiastically by Graham who showed us to our room (we stayed in the Sea Room) and gave us suggestions on where we could go for dinner. The location of the lodge is super as it gives a panoramic view of the Knysna lagoon. All the rooms on the first floor have terraces which overlook the lagoon. The rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean and the bed is extremely comfortable. We enjoyed watching the sunset from our room's terrace with a nice bottle of bubbly. Their honesty bar is very well stocked and very reasonable. During breakfast in the morning Joyce interacted with all guests and gave everyone suggestions and pamphlets of things to do in and around Knysna, including suggesting a lovely place for lunch in Plettenberg Bay.

Our only criticism would be with the quality of breakfast served. Having stayed at lovely places all across Kruger, Cape Town and Franschhoek, we were a little let down by the breakfast - the quality was not that great and it wasn't very tasty.

But apart from that, the hosts were great, the room was comfortable and the location - superb.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a great view of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
384
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The lodge has a stunning view of knysna and the place it stunning. always freindly and accomadating. joyce and Graham are very lovley people and work hard to keep their place up to stanard. I enjoyed staying their. will defently stay their again. The rooms are magic and always very clean. spotless infact.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We went back to knysna and stayed once again at Candlewood Lodge in December 2011. What can I say even better than before Joyce and Graham have the most stunning place, the views and the facilities are fantastic, there is a pool, and jacuzzi. graham let us use the BBQ (braai) at our request and we sat by the pool in a loverly garden overlooking the whole of Knysna across the lagoon to the heads. The rooms are brilliant, clean, smart and with every detail accounted for, from fresh towels to crisp, clean linen of the highest quality, the beds are great and a satisfying night is guaranteed. Our food lovingly prepared by Joyce and her team of wonderful staff every morning was perfect, a choice of cold and fresh foods, as well as full cooked breakfast the way you want it was never too much hassle for them. Graham, at my request would often recommend and call local restaurants in advance for us, a nice touch, recommended for all tastes too, place to go and how long to get there, we also took advantage of the bar, and this was not an issue just simple to do, with Graham. One last thing, rugby, not an issue ask Graham, he would often let us watch super sport on the dstv we had in our room, as well as the DVD player for the kids. I cannot recommend Candlewood Lodge any more than this, I stayed at the 5 Star Table Bay Hotle in Cape Town, and like for like to me they are the same standard, enough said.

Room Tip: they are all fantastic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed for a few nights here on our honeymoon in December. Very nice and friendly hosts who gave plenty of good advice on Knysna and the surrounding area. Nice room with a wonderful view. My only small criticism would be that breakfast was not great, the quality of the food was not great although it was cooked properly. Also, the music that was playing was quite annoying but I realise that is a matter of taste!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea room which had a fantastic view and a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stopped off for the night at Candlewood Lodge on the way to Addo Elephant Park and were impressed by this gem of a guest house. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view across the lagoon and to the Indian Ocean beyond. Joyce and Graham are chatty West Midlanders with great knowledge of the area and what is going on locally. We swam in their pool to wake us up after the long drive from Cape Town and wished we had asked Graham to switch on the jacuzzi in advance, as it takes a few hours to heat up.
Our breakfast was excellent; beautifully cooked and served by the lovely Anna.
I am looking forward to going back there for longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
190 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Candlewood lodge lies up on a hill in beautiful Knysna and overlooks the lagune if you stay in on of the top rooms. Actually from your fantastic bed you can watch the sun rises over the lagune and from the terrasse you will have the magnificant view over the town and the lagune.
The roomis huge and the bathroom even bigger - all very modern style with a gentle touch of class. WiFi works exceptional in the room and Graham and Joyce takes care of you downstairs in the beautifull garden where breakfast is served or at the pool, where youcan enjoy a glass of excellent wine from the wine cooler or a cold beer. The garden is wonderful with lots of flowers and plants.
Candlewood is a 5min drive from the harbourside downtown Knysna - where you will find a lot of brilliant restaurants and shop till you drop - stores.
Candlewood Lodge is a truly 5* lodge and more - a great place to stay a couple of nights - do it and please yourself.

Room Tip: The sand room upstairs withthe wonderful view of the lagune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently spent a weekend with my boyfriend in the Sand room upstairs in the lodge. The views are stunning from the room and balcony. The room has to be the cleanest and most pristine i have stayed in anywhere. Graham and Joyce were great and nothing was too much bother, i love the attention to detail when we said we were off to the beach they offered beach towels and an umbrella to us. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and made to order. i will definitley be back to Candlewood for another stay.

Room Tip: If you can go for the balcony rooms upstairs. Wow what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariskaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing