We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
703
41
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
41
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand roombedtime storiesattention to detailgarden routegreat hostssouth africaknysna headsglass of wineknysna lagoonstunning viewsplaces to visitevery morningfirst floorguest househome away from homelovely placeperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a long drive from Franschhoek to Oudtshoorn and then from Oudtshoorn to Knsyna, all in 1 day. Upon reaching the lodge, we were greeted enthusiastically by Graham who showed us to our room (we stayed in the Sea Room) and gave us suggestions on where we could go for dinner. The location of the lodge is super as it gives a panoramic view of the Knysna lagoon. All the rooms on the first floor have terraces which overlook the lagoon. The rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean and the bed is extremely comfortable. We enjoyed watching the sunset from our room's terrace with a nice bottle of bubbly. Their honesty bar is very well stocked and very reasonable. During breakfast in the morning Joyce interacted with all guests and gave everyone suggestions and pamphlets of things to do in and around Knysna, including suggesting a lovely place for lunch in Plettenberg Bay.

Our only criticism would be with the quality of breakfast served. Having stayed at lovely places all across Kruger, Cape Town and Franschhoek, we were a little let down by the breakfast - the quality was not that great and it wasn't very tasty.

But apart from that, the hosts were great, the room was comfortable and the location - superb.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a great view of the lagoon
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NehaVMaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The lodge has a stunning view of knysna and the place it stunning. always freindly and accomadating. joyce and Graham are very lovley people and work hard to keep their place up to stanard. I enjoyed staying their. will defently stay their again. The rooms are magic and always very clean. spotless infact.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We went back to knysna and stayed once again at Candlewood Lodge in December 2011. What can I say even better than before Joyce and Graham have the most stunning place, the views and the facilities are fantastic, there is a pool, and jacuzzi. graham let us use the BBQ (braai) at our request and we sat by the pool in a loverly garden overlooking the whole of Knysna across the lagoon to the heads. The rooms are brilliant, clean, smart and with every detail accounted for, from fresh towels to crisp, clean linen of the highest quality, the beds are great and a satisfying night is guaranteed. Our food lovingly prepared by Joyce and her team of wonderful staff every morning was perfect, a choice of cold and fresh foods, as well as full cooked breakfast the way you want it was never too much hassle for them. Graham, at my request would often recommend and call local restaurants in advance for us, a nice touch, recommended for all tastes too, place to go and how long to get there, we also took advantage of the bar, and this was not an issue just simple to do, with Graham. One last thing, rugby, not an issue ask Graham, he would often let us watch super sport on the dstv we had in our room, as well as the DVD player for the kids. I cannot recommend Candlewood Lodge any more than this, I stayed at the 5 Star Table Bay Hotle in Cape Town, and like for like to me they are the same standard, enough said.

Room Tip: they are all fantastic rooms
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugbyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed for a few nights here on our honeymoon in December. Very nice and friendly hosts who gave plenty of good advice on Knysna and the surrounding area. Nice room with a wonderful view. My only small criticism would be that breakfast was not great, the quality of the food was not great although it was cooked properly. Also, the music that was playing was quite annoying but I realise that is a matter of taste!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea room which had a fantastic view and a nice terrace.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stopped off for the night at Candlewood Lodge on the way to Addo Elephant Park and were impressed by this gem of a guest house. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view across the lagoon and to the Indian Ocean beyond. Joyce and Graham are chatty West Midlanders with great knowledge of the area and what is going on locally. We swam in their pool to wake us up after the long drive from Cape Town and wished we had asked Graham to switch on the jacuzzi in advance, as it takes a few hours to heat up.
Our breakfast was excellent; beautifully cooked and served by the lovely Anna.
I am looking forward to going back there for longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews