We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guest House”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in Knysna for three nights in February at Candlewood Lodge, having picked it from Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. Our room (Sand) had the most gorgeous view over the lagoon (with a balcony to enjoy a glass of wine or two) and was spacious, tastefully decorated with a wonderful ensuite bathroom/shower. Our hosts, Joyce and Graham made us very welcome and gave us what information we needed to explore the local area. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Kim and Ray (UK)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
417
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Garden Route tour and Joyce and Graham made us feel really welcome. Full of information and incredibly helpful, they booked restaurants for us (getting us in when booking was difficult and getting us great tables, even taking us into the Waterfront when our taxi didn't turn up!). The complementary welcome beer was a lovely touch too, you really are part of the family when you stay here. It was a bit weird at first, effectively being in someone's home, but that feeling was soon overwhelmed by kindness.

The house itself is immaculate with stunning views over the lagoon, beautiful rooms and lovely gardens with a small pool. The honesty bar was well stocked and great value.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and was superbly cooked & plentiful and the house is in a quiet area but nicely situated for all the local attractions.

All in all, a lovely stay in a very nice Guest House.

Room Tip: Try for a 1st floor room at the front for the views over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at this property and could not fault it. It is run by an English couple, Graham and Joyce. Graham welcomed us on our arrival and it felt like we were staying with friends. Our room was nicely decorated and there was a lovely shower/wet room. Breakfast was superb, usually served outside. Everything in this property is immaculate and of the best quality. The pool and garden area are wonderful. On our last evening Graham and Joyce brought drinks for us and the other guests to the pool area and we spent a pleasant hour watching the sun set over the 'heads'. It is a short taxi ride/drive into town and felt very safe. Perfect hosts,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What a fantastic place! We had 2 wonderful weeks. We were made to feel so welcome the room was beautiful , the bed was better Than my own! The hosts Joyce & Graham are so friendly and very helpful nothing was too. Much trouble. Everything you can think off for breakfast I have gained so much weight. So a great big thank you to Joyce & graham we can't wait to go back . I rate this place 110%

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at Candlewood in Knysna this year. The rooms were beautiful and immaculate with wonderful views over the heads.
The breakfast was good and Joyce and Graham were very friendly and conscientious hosts. They could be a little overwhelming in their eagerness to be helpful at breakfast which was ok for us but may be too intense for couples wanting more privacy. They were also quick to recommend 'English' things on us like the English shop that sells baked beans or the pub that sells real ale and pies which we found a little odd as if we wanted those type of places we probably wouldn't have left London :)
Small problem was that there was no fridge and no AC in our room but, overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were upgraded to the family suite which was great - we could see the lagoon from the living room window. The town centre is a short drive away. Breakfast was very good and we appreciated Graham's helpful tips on where to go and what to see.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RKT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent two nights at the Candlewood lodge on our way to Cape Town just before Christmas.
This is one of the best b&b we have ever been to, the room was immaculate with a stunning view of Knysna heads and the lagoon. we could enjoy the sunset either from our balcony or by the pool.

Joyce and Graham made us feel like at home, they are fantastic host, very attentive and caring. (they're also incredible knowledgeable about the area if are unsure on what to do they're better than any tourist office!)

Finally, breakfast was superb too.
Definitely come back again and already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing