We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue and Roger. Superb Guest House”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our second visit to Knysna as we loved it so much the first time. Candlewood Lodge was recommended to us by a family member and we were not disappointed. It was superb in every way. We stayed in the 'Sand' room overlooking the bay and the views were amazing. The room was large and airy, with both bath and shower in the ensuite. It was spotlessly clean as was the whole of the house. The breakfast was superb and the staff who were all locals were very friendly and they looked after us superbly. Graham and Joyce, the owners, made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Graham organised a wonderful golf day for us at the superb Perzula Estate at special discounted rates. We had not brought our golf clubs with us so he also arranged the hire of 2 sets at a very reasonable rate. We stayed for 3 nights but did not want to leave when the time came. I am sure we will return to Knysna if only to stay with Graham and Joyce again. We will be recommending Candlewood Lodge to all our friends and family.

Sue and Roger. UK

Room Tip: Choose one of the sea view bedrooms as the groung floor rooms do not have the superb views and are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_B310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

The most amazing 2 weeks we have had in any country. This was more than a 5 star AA listed
accomodation. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, large beds and wet rooms.
The views were stunning, showing The Heads, the lagoon and Thiessen Island. For luxury, the pool was warm and inviting and for sheer pleasure, a hot tub!!
Talking about warm, Joyce and Graham were brilliant hosts, knowlegable about the area, the restaurants, places to visit and providing breakfasts to die for!!
Anyone visiting Knysna, Candlewood Lodge is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Properly run, decent rooms and bathrooms. A little bit out of town and the room we were in lacked a bit of privacy due to decking walkway outside.A nice enough place but definitely lacking a little magic.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in Knysna for three nights in February at Candlewood Lodge, having picked it from Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. Our room (Sand) had the most gorgeous view over the lagoon (with a balcony to enjoy a glass of wine or two) and was spacious, tastefully decorated with a wonderful ensuite bathroom/shower. Our hosts, Joyce and Graham made us very welcome and gave us what information we needed to explore the local area. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Kim and Ray (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Garden Route tour and Joyce and Graham made us feel really welcome. Full of information and incredibly helpful, they booked restaurants for us (getting us in when booking was difficult and getting us great tables, even taking us into the Waterfront when our taxi didn't turn up!). The complementary welcome beer was a lovely touch too, you really are part of the family when you stay here. It was a bit weird at first, effectively being in someone's home, but that feeling was soon overwhelmed by kindness.

The house itself is immaculate with stunning views over the lagoon, beautiful rooms and lovely gardens with a small pool. The honesty bar was well stocked and great value.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and was superbly cooked & plentiful and the house is in a quiet area but nicely situated for all the local attractions.

All in all, a lovely stay in a very nice Guest House.

Room Tip: Try for a 1st floor room at the front for the views over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at this property and could not fault it. It is run by an English couple, Graham and Joyce. Graham welcomed us on our arrival and it felt like we were staying with friends. Our room was nicely decorated and there was a lovely shower/wet room. Breakfast was superb, usually served outside. Everything in this property is immaculate and of the best quality. The pool and garden area are wonderful. On our last evening Graham and Joyce brought drinks for us and the other guests to the pool area and we spent a pleasant hour watching the sun set over the 'heads'. It is a short taxi ride/drive into town and felt very safe. Perfect hosts,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What a fantastic place! We had 2 wonderful weeks. We were made to feel so welcome the room was beautiful , the bed was better Than my own! The hosts Joyce & Graham are so friendly and very helpful nothing was too. Much trouble. Everything you can think off for breakfast I have gained so much weight. So a great big thank you to Joyce & graham we can't wait to go back . I rate this place 110%

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
14.2 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#5 of 129 in Knysna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £81 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa (hot tube). There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing