We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in knysna”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The place to stay in knysna”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

It's sometimes dangerous to write an effective review, because it creates expectations that are impossible to live up to. But in this case I have to say that the Candlewood Lodge is brilliant. Large and spacious room well decorated with great attention to detail. Lovely garden and Graham and Joyce are the perfect hosts. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in of near Knysna look no further.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    42
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
407
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

What a wonderful stay. The bedroom was gorgeous, I so liked the french decor, home from home. Amazing breakfast with such variety and class. Joyce and Graham were very accomodating in helping us find our way around Knysna and offering other neighbouring places of interest. It is vey accessable location to travel as we had hired a car and so enjoyed the day trips out to the beach and bird reserve. Fantasic place to stay with beautiful views and pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the room Sea if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 343xxxxxxx343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were made so welcome in this beautiful home and would not hesitate to return.
A convenient base for a good selection of attractions within easy travelling,and so restful on our return,with a comfortable patio and pool facilities and a great elevated view over the lagoon and Knysna Heads,particularly at sunset. A few minutes drive to a good range of restaurants in the harbour.
Our rooms were fresh,light and very comfortable, with excellent facilities.
Breakfast met everyone's wishes with a good range of choice.
We appreciated the input of Joyce and Graham in providing good advice on local attractions.
Good memories !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVee_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I recently visited Knysna and once again stayed at Candlewood Lodge.

This was my third stay at Candlewood only this time I was on my own as my husband has passed away. What can I say? it was as fantastic as ever, Joyce and Graham made me so welcome, I felt like an old friend The service and hospitality were as good, if not better than before and I hope to go back again sometime soon

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying in Shell as it is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Wonderful welcome and great rooms with spectacular view of the Heads.
The rooms are bright with great beds and the honesty bar and the pool was a great end to the day. (The upstairs rooms have the best views_)
Breakfast was really good and Graham did mean poached eggs/

Good value and we would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pham06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was definitely the best guesthouse on our South Africa trip. We had a room with shared balcony and a view at the lagoon. The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast was typical "guesthouse-breakfast" with a small buffet and your choice of eggs-everything very delicious. The owners were friendly and helpful, and would give you any information you need. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the garden area and the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silje_123_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our second visit to Knysna as we loved it so much the first time. Candlewood Lodge was recommended to us by a family member and we were not disappointed. It was superb in every way. We stayed in the 'Sand' room overlooking the bay and the views were amazing. The room was large and airy, with both bath and shower in the ensuite. It was spotlessly clean as was the whole of the house. The breakfast was superb and the staff who were all locals were very friendly and they looked after us superbly. Graham and Joyce, the owners, made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Graham organised a wonderful golf day for us at the superb Perzula Estate at special discounted rates. We had not brought our golf clubs with us so he also arranged the hire of 2 sets at a very reasonable rate. We stayed for 3 nights but did not want to leave when the time came. I am sure we will return to Knysna if only to stay with Graham and Joyce again. We will be recommending Candlewood Lodge to all our friends and family.

Sue and Roger. UK

Room Tip: Choose one of the sea view bedrooms as the groung floor rooms do not have the superb views and are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_B310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#2 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing