We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Knysna to stay”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 3 days and had two upstairs balcony air-conditioned rooms with fabulous views across the Lagoon The hosts were so friendly and helped us with restaurants and interesting places to go during our stay. Breakfast was out o f the world with such a selection We definitely want to return soon.

Room Tip: Relaxing around the pool in the afternoon and having a jacuzzi is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a very nice stay at Candlewood Lodge thanks to hosts Joyce & Graham. There is everything you need in the lovely, clean rooms of which the one we stayed in had a balcony overlooking the lagoon. The swimming pool & garden were very pretty. Breakfast was amazing with a good choice - fruit salad, cooked breakfast, toast, meats & cheeses, cakes, cereals - a feast to set you up for the day! The only slightly downside is its locaction away from the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Thank you Joyce & Graham for yet another magnificent stay at Candlewood lodge in Knysna! We absolutely love your guesthouse & always find it difficult to leave after such an incredible holiday. We are a family of 8 and this was our second stay at Candlewood lodge. The rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean & tidy as well as equipped with a tv, dvd player, A/C, hairdryer and free wifi. A delicious breakfast is served every morning ranging from muesli, cereals, fruit salads & yoghurts, to a Full English Breakfast and of course delicious homemade scones! The pool area has an amazing view over the Knysna lagoon and heads. All 8 of us stayed in one section of the B&B where 3 of the upstairs bedrooms have a balcony with breathtaking views over Thesen Island, the Knysna lagoon and the heads, and the family room on the ground floor is equipped with a fridge, kitchen counter and lounge area. Joyce & Graham make every effort to make you feel welcome & at home and they also recommended and made dinner reservations for us at a few excellent restaurants! This guesthouse really encapsulates the beauty, warmth & tranquility of Knysna!:)

Room Tip: Sand, Sea & Sky rooms are beautiful couple rooms on the first floor with a balcony and amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendyll-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the "Sun Room" and it had a wonderful view and great outdoor areas. Owners are friendly and welcoming. Although the rooms as small they are clean and comfortable. Make sure you check out the wine fridge :)

Room Tip: Sun Room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacaRaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The place is nice, and the hosts are very welcoming. But I am not sure it deserves such a high rating.
We stayed in other places on the Garden route that were on another scale entirely for less money.
It is more of a B&B then a lodge.
booking.com and tripadvisor scores are displayed as trophies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in the Sand Room which is a lovely, large room with a large bathroom - our friends stayed in the Sea Room which was also lovely. Both rooms are upstairs and have stunning views to the heads, the lagoon and the 2 islands. Everything was very clean and orderly. The breakfast was scrumptious with a lot of fresh fruit. Only annoyance was that breakfast ends at exactly 9 o'clock, so you will have to be there at 8 o'clock if you want to enjoy your breakfast. We would further suggest that Joyce makes her very informative introduction to the town after breakfast. We found this introduction during the meal rather disturbing. Otherwise both Joyce and Graham were very helpful and dedicated to their job as owners of the lodge.

Room Tip: The Sand Room is upstairs and is a large room with a large bathroom and has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This B&B is in a great location and has stunning views of the lagoon with beautiful gardens and pool area. Graeme was very helpful with booking golf for us and making restaurant recommendations and bookings. Just a couple of small downsides - of the 3 weeks we have spent in South Africa staying in B&Bs this was the only one which was 5 star (the others being 4 star) but was the only one without a fridge in the room and the only one with such a short slot for breakfast (8am-9am) - everywhere else we stayed was on average 8am-10am.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritabirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#2 of 130 in Knysna
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
14.2 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#5 of 130 in Knysna
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £94 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa (hot tube). There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing