We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 125 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We had not booked in advance so used the facilities offered by the local tourist office. They recommended 5 B&B's and Candlewood was the first we visited. The welcome was excellent so we never made it to the other 4 recommendations. We stayed for 5 nights using it as a base to explore the local area. Overall, the accommodation, cleanliness, food and weather were first class. Joyce & Graham could not have done more for us and we would thoroughly recommend this as a venue of choice.
Ro & Jill Osborne

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwise84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    42
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
401
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Wonderful room, spacious and well decorated with some interesting african artefacts. Fantastic views over the lagoon and heads. Quiet and private location. Hosts Graham and Joyce were wonderful and couldnt do enough for you together with being interesting and good fun. Felt very at home. Cant comment on pool area as never got to see it, weather not that good unfortunately although would have been good to get in the hot tub one evening, therefore will have to return to get the full experience of the african summer evenings. Breakfasts were well cooked and presented. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

I went there with my girlfriend during our trip along the Garden Route end of March 2009. We felt "at home" from the minute we entered the house. Our Room had a great view and it was perfectly clean and cozy. Joyce & Graham are great hosts and know the Knysna area well. The Breakfast was great, it was the right choise for the two nights we spend there.
If you like hiking, ask Graham for the way to the Millwood (Old Goldmine) trail and try one of those delicious apple crumble cakes in the little cafe/museum near the start&end point of that tour.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatundAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Great place and highly recommended. Hadn't booked in advance and found this place at the recommendation of the local tourism office.

Hosts Graham & Joyce were incredibly welcoming and friendly without being overbearing. Wonderful pool area for relaxing which gets the sun all day, perfect for those lazy days.

The location is just on the outskirts of Knysna but don't let that put you off as you'd need a car anyway - great spot for exploring around Plettenberg, Knysna itself, WIlderness etc etc.

Accomodation is relatively cheap in South Africa but for value for money this couldn't be beaten.

We stayed in room "Shell" which was light and airy and perfect for us.

James & Janine

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I spent a week in Knysna in December, 2008 at the beautiful Candlewood Lodge where the dearest, most hospitable hosts cared for our every whim with genuine enthusiasm!
This was exactly the type of accommodation we required, allowing us the freedom to explore the area as we wanted to. Our hosts, Graham and Joyce were most helpful in assisting with information regarding places of interest.
The view from our balcony was of the Knysna Lagoon - truly spectacular!
Total relaxation.

Helpful?
1 Thank newcorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries ,Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

The Lodge is on the outskirts of the town centre,but only a short 5 min drive from waterfront and marina. The "Sand" room is very spacious and has excellent views over the lagoon, thesens Island and the Heads. Graham and Joyce are very friendly and helped with advice on Days out. Although in the welcome pack they said no laundry service was available. (Laundrette close by). They did my laundry for me, only because i was the only guest staying at the time. Nice pool and spa area as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrocrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We stayed at the Candlewood in Feb 09 and this truly was a fantastic B&B. We were lucky enough to stay in the SAND ROOM with stunning views over Knysna Estuary and the room was absolutely first class although no air conditioning (the only negative point we could think of!). Joyce & Graham were excellent hosts, friendly and welcomed you as one of the family. Great breakfasts and one of the nicest B&B's we stayed in on our garden route tour. We would definitely recommend Candlewood Lodge and in actual fact we can't wait to return next year. Thank you both very much for making our stay so special.
Lisa & Jon, UK

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerkyHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 125 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing