We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BeauChamp THE Place to be !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beauchamp Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beauchamp Place
Ranked #106 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BeauChamp THE Place to be !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at this place many a time in my career - previous owners and the new owners - both were / are outstanding people - hospitality / friendliness and going out of their way to "make life away from home" for their customers, are out of this world. Anita / Karen you guys ROCK! We even stayed our second week as well with these nice people. Believe you me, we stay in B&Bs all over the Eastern and Southern Cape and they compare with the best.
I can reccommend them to anyone who want to stay in Knysna and at such a beautiful place / surroundings. Keep up the good work you two outstanding ladies - I salute you!
Dirk Willers - FNB.

Room Tip: Number ONE or number TWO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I would like to thank Anita, Karen and the Team at Beauchamp Bed and Breakfast for their hopitality and friendship during my stay during the last two weeks. It was a pleasure staying at the B and B, definately a home away from home. Your breakfasts are superb.
Carol

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 547carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

As a tour operator, we have decided to make use of Beauchamp for our group of 30 senior citizens. A group of this size is never an easy task, but Beauchamp made it an absolute breeze. Requests were dealt with immediately and assistance of any kind were just around the corner. We were specifically looking for 'budget accommodation', but this was one step above - without a doubt. Superior quality for a super low price. The entire group was pleased and the accommodation was a constant topic of conversation on the road back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: This B&B operates two properties next to each other. For a bit more luxury, ask for Ar'Deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterWCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welkom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

from the initial contact to the time of departure the management and staff were superb.they made us feel at home.they were hospitable indeed.

Room Tip: higher floors have excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julyalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was looking for accommodation just for 1night in Knysna and manage to find them along the way of driving around. Ask them if they have any rooms available and they said yes. The reception lady, very polite showed me 2 rooms and i could choose which one i would like for the night. Very good and very clean rooms i had coffee and tea facilities in the room too. The next morning my vehicle was washed for free and i had a very good nights rest. I will use them again on my next trip to the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Make use of the rooms on the top row
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I am a Singaporean who recently visited Knysna and I must admit, Knysna is a really beautiful place. However, my experience that my family and I had at Beauchamp Place made my trip in Knysna really unpleasant. Firstly, my room was infested with insects and my room was not equipped with air-conditioning. Since there was no air-conditioning, we could not close the windows as we would be suffocating ourselves. My dad received rude and racist remarks when he brought up this matter to the lady at the reception. She repeatedly denied the existence of the insects and kept asking us to catch some to show to her as evidence! As a host, she should have never argue with the guests over such trivial matters. She even said that for R150 more, we could have been upgraded to rooms with air-conditioning, which we would have gladly paid for! She did not tell us that when we checked into Beauchamp Place. Staying there is no different from camping out in Knysna's fields in a tent with all the insects buzzing around us! We were really shocked when she made a racist, stereotypical statement that we Singaporeans were all the same. This was really silly of her as she was charging R350 per person while other accomodations nearby were charging a standard fee of R200 including full English breakfast. Why should we pay more and be verbally abused by the host? I strongly encourage all my fellow Singaporeans visting Knysna to leave this option out of your accomodations list to avoid being discriminated like how we and the previous Singaporean vistors were treated.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TruthSpeakingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulgong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

As with most of our accommodation on our trip to South Africa,when the sun started to disappear we would look for a place to stop the night.Our choice this night was Beauchamp place Knysna. We were greeted with a smile and a chat and shown to our rooms on the 2nd floor.They had large windows with glass & timber doors that opened up onto a small balcony. The room was adequately furnished and pleasant .There is a busy road out front, but it is far enough away not to be too intrusive.The Bay laps the other side of the road with views to Knysna Heads,very nice at sunrise. Our host showed us menus of restaurants and would have been glad to book for us,then told us how to get to points of interest. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Just on the edge of town, nice and quiet. Lovely views.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
5.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#71 of 129 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 14 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.5 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauchamp Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauchamp Place

Property: Beauchamp Place
Address: 150 Old Cape Road, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauchamp Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauchamp Place Guesthouse is a family Friendly establishment situated in the Heart of the Garden Route, alongside the beautiful Knysna Estuary. This Establishment offers three-star graded Bed & Breakfast or self-catering accommodation. With our affordable rates, and so much to see and do in and around Knysna, this popular Establishment has a loyal following of Guests, local and international, returning time after time. Our guesthouse is also a popular "stay over for our corporate guests, providing accommodation for every need. We have enclosed, off street parking with remote controlled access for the convenience of our guests. Free Wi-Fi in all our rooms and we only use top quality white cotton percale linen. The management at Beauchamp will do their utmost best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our friendly staff will gladly help you plan your day with things to do in and around our beautiful town. We can accommodate groups big or small. Our room types differ from basic/budget to comfortable/semi self-catering. Set in our tranquil garden is a swimming pool where guests can laze around and enjoy the sunshine. We have several braai facilities facing the beautiful view over the Knysna estuary and Heads. The centre of town and Knysna Waterfront is just a short walk away. If you are looking for peace, relaxation, tranquility & loads of family fun, while still being close to all the attractions of the Garden Route look no further, Beauchamp Place, will become your home away from home with your first visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Beauchamp Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing