We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Idle Monkey B&B
Ranked #55 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Monkey has new owners who understand how to deliver value for money accommodation, they provide a warm welcome and a great breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere. The location is superb just a short walk from Knysna centre making it a good choice when walking back after a night of fantastic South African wine. I will be back!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for The Idle Monkey B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Weltreise2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: In den oberen Zimmern schläft man direkt unter dem Strohdach.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpoKil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LydiaOost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertaMargotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita_2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.8 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.0 mi away
Bridgewater
Bridgewater
#31 of 127 in Knysna
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Monkey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Monkey B&B

Address: 98 Main Street | Paradise, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £30 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Idle Monkey B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since October 2012, The Idle Monkey is situated on the main road overlooking the Knysna Lagoon, with its central location making it the ideal bay stop on the Garden Route. Located only a 10 min walk from the centre of Knysna or vibrant Waterfront. A warm welcome awaits you at this charming thatched home. The new owners of The Idle Monkey invite you to join them for a hearty breakfast (the best in town) in the Colonial Dining room overlooking the Lagoon. Comfortable rooms offer Twin, Double and Family rooms with Satellite TV and Tea & Coffee making facility. Some rooms benefit from a private patio area where you can relax and enjoy the cool evening breeze and some have great views overlooking the lagoon. All guests are welcome to make use of the sunbathing terrace and plunge pool in the quaint garden. Here at The Idle Monkey we understand how time is of the essence when you are on holiday and are pleased to introduce a Packed Lunch service. For a small fee we will prepare a packed lunch for you consisting of sandwiches, drink, fruit and chips/crisps, all we ask is you order the day before. We have also commenced an affordable same day laundry service, so you don’t need to bring your home wardrobe when staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Idle Monkey B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing