We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saffron House Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 21 Milnerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

All in all a good guest house , value for money and would use your facilities again.
Just please teach your cook to do the breakfast properly . Thats where your service goes down the toilet . We had to show her in the kitchen how to fry our eggs ?.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Saffron is a bit far from the centre of Cape Town (15 k) but the route to town is a fast highway, except during rush-hour. People nice, room OK, bed lumpy, internet only worked in lounge/dining room. Inexpensive - you get what you pay for. I would use it again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaveNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at Saffron House on March 2 to 4, 2014. A very nice and respectable place! I recommend it and would go back. Wonderful Manager Carin and the most excellent service I have received in many years. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arrived at guesthouse late on the 1st March 2014. The room was ok. The guesthouse had an overpowering smell of cooking oil when I checked in. The sliding door didn't fit into its frame properly and I felt unsafe. It looked to me as if someone forced the door open on a previous occasion. The outside gate was also dodgy. You couldn't open the gate from the inside. You hade insert your key into the lock from the outside to exit the guesthouse
I booked for three nights paid a R900 deposit and decided that my safety was paramount and that I would rather stay somewhere else.
The owners are difficult to get in touch with and they never responded to my calls.
As for the picture of Table Mountain on the website-there is no view. The view is of an uninviting swimming pool.
Booked into an excellent guesthouse in Blouberg Strand that was so much better than Saffron House and much safer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernst E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Requested to check in earlier upon my arrival guests had not checked out The room was infested with ants The bed gosh was so uncomfortable slept on springs had a really uncomfortable sleep,Tv outdated Gabbage left in front of room, Spider webs in room, ,Lapa couches dirty Breakfast was so limited as to a four star Stayed in a 1 star and there was more a variety, Place Not well taken care of needs some TLC

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Carton was lonely and very welcoming and the room was beautiful. Cooked breakfast was a disappointment with poor quality ingredients and requests not followed. I.e asked for soft eggs with tomatoes and mushrooms. Got hard web with bacon and sausage.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonjsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I am absolutely disgusted with the service I have received at this supposed 4 star guest house. What we checked into was NOT what I booked for... No view from the balcony, no double beds, no bath in the bathroom, a broken sliding door that couldn't lock, a below average breakfast in a dirty dining area and not to mention having to jump over the gate as I was not given a gate key and NO staff on the premises to help us! Definitely not worth the money I paid. This owner is clearly not capable of running this business as no interest was shown and no response to my complaints! Very sad!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milnerton hotels
2.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Roman Retreat
Roman Retreat
#5 of 21 in Milnerton
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
#1 of 11 in Milnerton
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Woodbridge Lodge
Woodbridge Lodge
#10 of 21 in Milnerton
28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#9 of 11 in Milnerton
20 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffron House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffron House Guesthouse

Address: 22 Balers Way | Sunset Beach, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Milnerton
Price Range: £49 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saffron House Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffron House is an upmarket guest house located in the popular residential area of Sunset Beach. With in a 20 minute drive from the Airport, Cape Town CBD, Waterfront, Greenpoint stadium, Durbanville wine farms and Century City/Canal Walk Shopping Centre. Sunset Beach is popular among Kite Surfers with constant winds its the ideal spot in summer time. Leisure time can also be spent at the Golf Course almost on our doorstep. Our 13 en-suite bedrooms are equipped with the finest linen, Luxury towels, DSTv, hair dryers on request, tea / coffee stations and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is served in the gracious atmosphere of our breakfast room overlooking the pool area. We also cater for business meetings, private functions, braai facilities, team buildings etc. In house laundry, Lunch and dinner on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saffron House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron House Guesthouse Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing