We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy makes this place amazing”
Review of Cape Sunset Villas

Cape Sunset Villas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Sunset Villas
Ranked #7 of 21 Milnerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here during a work trip to visit the local children's hospital in Rondebosch. It is a small establishment that I believe only has 10 rooms. My room was not the best that I've stayed in. A queen bed is two twins pushed together. The water had an odor (I'm guessing that's because we were near the beach) but the view from the room was spectacular. I could see Table Top Mountain and the island where Mandela was imprisoned from my room. I was on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean. The weather was gorgeous so we were there at a really good time of year.

The house hostess is incredible. She was super helpful. On the way over KLM Airlines destroyed my bag. This was my first trip off my home continent and so I didn't know enough that my flat iron wouldn't work there even though I'd bought a converter. Or that my phone wouldn't work even though I thought I'd upgraded to an international plan. Tracy let me borrow her flat iron (although I ended up not being able to use it so she then offered me the number to her hair hair stylist! Who was amazing by the way.). She let me use the house phone whenever I needed it. She called me a cab whenever i needed it. She recommended food places. She cooked breakfast every morning (which my colleagues ate, but I can't eat anything before 6 am) and it was hearty food.

At the end of every day I welcomed coming to what felt like home. One of the nights my colleagues were able to cook out on the patio. I think the locals call it barbecue. The property is gated so I felt very safe. I even like that the there were tv channels that I could watch during my down time. I arrived in Cape Town with a bit of a cold so I didn't hang out as much with my colleagues as I would have liked.

Staying here made my first trip to Cape Town amazing. I would definitely come back and stay again but this time for vacation. Especially if Tracy is still managing the property.

Room Tip: There are only two levels. I don't think you can go wrong with first level or balcony but for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Parson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

If its a little piece of magic and great value that you looking for, then this is the place. I first stayed at the Cape Sunset Villa in April this year - i was desperatley looking for a place to stay for 9 days, and thanks to a special they were running, my budget fitted the price. As I walked in I breathed a huge sigh of relief, this is not one of the places that looks magnificent on the web and as you walk in you wonder where on earth they managed to capture the photos as it certainly was nowhere near the spot.....It is here that the photos on the web do not do justice. So much so that I have stayed there now 3 times....

The entrance area is HUGE, White tiles, a few stairs leading into a large dining and entertainment area. Breakfast is served in the dining area, which is behind a majestic staircase and depending on which table you are at, has a view of the fynbos and sea. The entertainment area has a large screen TV, large comfy couches and a huge wooden table that I presume is for pool/billiards (excuse my ignorance). Not that I could figure any reason why with the stunning views you would need this area....I am sure it gets well used by other guests. There is a also a rather large and well equipped kitchen that I found most useful for dinners.

I have had a place to myself on a few nights, so I have to confess that I did meander to see the other rooms.... There are 2 downstairs - those I did not explore. Upstairs there are 4 rooms, all with a stunning view from the bed of the sea. When I walked into what I now call 'my room' my breath was taken away by a huge room and a view of the sun slowly sinking into ithe sea right there.... There are two very large cupboards in the entrance, a large bathroom with very spacious bath, shower and double sink. And then the bedroom area - the king size bed (2 beds pushed together) has crisp clean white linen. There is a lot of room in the bedroom - with 2 chairs to the side that are great to curl up with a mug of hot chocoate and watch the sea.

Saying all this, I had to wonder to myself why the price does not match the 5 star size of the property. The manageress of the place, Lianne, is wonderful and has been very accomodating with some of the dietary requests I have made. Breakfast is simple and small, and is served when you want it. The staff stay very much out of your way, although I have become rather fond of Lianne and her dog and was even treated to taking the doggie for a walk on the beach. (She was very considerate and only on my request was the dog given free reign of the place).

Aside from the small breakfast, the room has a few flaws that if I was paying more I would have not been happy with. While it is spotlessly clean, there is a disconcerting stain at the bottom of the toilet bowl.... Towels are wonderful white ones, although when changed are not always the same big size and quality. The one drawer in the closet was broken. There is a kettle in the room, but it does not automatically switch off (yes, watched kettle does boil). On my latest visit I also noticed that there is an area of damp on the bedroom wall, and the huge balcony glass doors had not been cleaned. None of these detracted from my wonderful stays there.....

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of Table Mountain, then ask for room 3. My room has a view towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishmash9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We arrived at Cape Sunset after a very long flight and transit, already in the dark, we were so impressed with Cape Sunset, a beautiful large house, nicely decorated, very comfortable. Our room was massive, with a beautiful ensuite and balcony looking right over the beach, very comfortable to be happily self contained in, but still with so much room to roam around the house, or play a game of pool downstairs.

We woke up to the most incredible view of Table Mountain from our bedroom/balcony, a beautiful beach right at the door step. For this alone it was well worth staying a little bit out of the city, a beach to walk on each morning, with such a view, and half the price of most city accommodation.

We had hired a car, which I'm not sure how we would have done without, driving and navigating around Cape Town was very easy and suprisingly user friendly for a person who had never driven in this country before! Only a 15 minute drive to the city, and easily accessable corner shops and supermarket within walking distance.

Leanne, the house manager, was so helpful and friendly, so approachable and happy to help with anything we needed.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone going to Cape town. We had such a great experience, it really was like staying in someone's home, yet with all the privacy and space you would expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whittlkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anja a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milnerton hotels
2.4 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
#1 of 11 in Milnerton
73 reviews
2.1 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#10 of 11 in Milnerton
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roman Retreat
Roman Retreat
#5 of 21 in Milnerton
15 reviews
2 mi away
Woodbridge Lodge
Woodbridge Lodge
#10 of 21 in Milnerton
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allstar-Villa
Allstar-Villa
#4 of 21 in Milnerton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sunset Villas

Address: 5 Winkle Way | Sunset Beach, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Milnerton
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sunset Villas Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing