We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dale's Black Angus Grill

Dale's Black Angus Grill
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Milnerton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Dale has moved from his Driftwood establishment to the Paddocks in Milnerton. As usual, his offerings are of the highest standard, the service good and the new venue is far more chic than the previous one. I noticed that the "blooming onion" was not on this menu (a favourite of mine at the Driftwood) and asked if it was still available. It is available but seems to have been omitted from the menu. It was as good as always but what a massive portion! Be warned, as a starter this is a dish that can be shared. A great meal and a great vibe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    62
    16
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sloppy, shoddy service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once the food was late, the usual litany of excuses came into play: 'I am sorry the food is 90min late, but we are really, really busy', 'I am sorry the fifth plate is an additional 8min late, but you must understand that foods cook at different lengths of time', 'I am sorry that your food is cold, but I just serve the stuff.' If you are going to charge those prices for food, then you need to give your staff authority to make their own decisions and handle problems themselves.

The buffet seemed to consist of various congealed meats and heavily over boiled vegetables.

If the food had not been cold it would have been good.

A dreadful waste of an hour and a half of a birthday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service that makes you come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having waitered a fair amount I find that I almost always judge a restaurant, or at least a fair amount, on the attitude, quality and training of their staff. Every restaurant has the odd fluffed order, the odd delay etc. but it's generally the staff, the 'face' of the business that can turn this around.
On two occasions now I've had enjoyable meals at Dales black Angus and on both occasions it has been the service of one of their waitresses, Kerry, that has made the experience great for both my wife and myself as well as our friends.
So while I would like to commend Black Angus for the quality of their food, I'd also like to commend them on their staff, friendly, attentive and in a phrase top notch, Kerry is an asset to your institution.
I wish you both well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meat Specialists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Returned here a second time to see if my name has been engraved (I completed their "challenge" which was extremely difficult but satisfying!). Their quality of steaks is just as good as before. 100% perfectly cooked! You'll be surprised how they make their meats so tender. We even ordered an Eisbein to test them, which also exceeded our expectations (crisp outside and tender, juicy inside). Their priced are medium-high but their quality of foods will match it anytime! They have specials frequently so check their website before visiting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Was there for my wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Steak mwa the best. ...music the best waiters high maintenance will be there soon.....and will be taking the same meal....so the chef get ready for my family

Helpful?
Thank shihaamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dale's Black Angus Grill also viewed

Milnerton, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dale's Black Angus Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing