We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Milnerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place in Cape Town”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My son and I stayed for six nights at this lovely guest house. The room was small, but clean and cosy. The bathroom proved to be a challenge for guests like us: no privacy in the shower, only a see-through glass door, so my son had to wait in the hallway until I was ready and afterwards I had to wait. Maybe the solution could be a curtain between the sleeping and the bathroom areas? The common rooms are wonderful, a piano available, fireplaces in each room and a library to lend books during one's stay. The breakfast room overlooks the pool and the grounds are beautifully groomed. The hosts are just so friendly, one feels immediately part of the family. The view from the grounds to table mountain is spectacular. I can only recommend the Cotswold House.

Room Tip: If you travel not in a couple constellation ask if the bathroom/shower is separated by door or curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shifrah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    31
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
41
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in Cotswold House and really enjoyed the lovely old house, the beach nearby, the pool and garden, the lovely breakfasts, the spotless rooms and the friendly attention of Bettina, Astrid, Caitlin and the other staff. The internet connection was good, the location is good (we had a car) and all in all, I would recommend Cotswold House. The only slight downside was that we both work on laptops in the evening, and the room was slightly small with only one table suitable for working on. That said, the main house is available and accessible at all times. We enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieBreenSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and I needed a place to stay that would provide us easy access to day trips in the Cape Town area. Boy did we choose well by staying at the Cotswold Guest House in the Milnerton neighborhood. Wonderful owner and staff that provided fantastic breakfasts and dealt with our very late arrivals in the evening (although they prefer you not do so). We were able to scoot out to the Western Cape National Park for a day without any traffic and were able to catch sunset often (view of sun setting through open ocean with all of Cape Town and Table Mountain to the east) at a lovely location between downtown Cape Town and Milnerton. Lovely grounds and quiet evenings on the property. Clean, cozy rooms as we like it and wonderful accommodation of our adventuresome vegetarian lifestyle. Thanks all!

Room Tip: The extra cost of the larger, ground floor rooms was just about right for us and even better for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed for the first 4 days of November. Arrived very tired after l2 hour flight from London and it was wonderful to be able to relax on loungers next to the pool and have a swim. The staff were all delightful and our rooms could not have been more comfortable. The breakfast was first class - loved the fruit salad and the situation just on the edge of Cape Town but quiet was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Silly me! I thought that when you pay a hundred dollars a night you get a bathroom inside your room!
Not so!
It was across a common hall!
And nowhere did it say that!
And the rooms were in a house across the street, not in the beautiful house you see in the pictures!
And the room was tiny, stuffy, ugly cheap furniture, the bed to narrow, and no airconditioner!
The main areas were nice and we could cook a nice braai in the yard - fine,
but no bathroom ensuite when you pay $100 a night????
Youth Hostel! Deefinately not a 4-star hotel!
Don't go there!

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask if you get a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michalbIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed for three nights in August 2012.
Great location - easy access everywhere (Cape, downtown, Stellenbosch, etc.)
The owners and staff are very friendly. Always helpful with tips.
Had a room with non en suite bathroom. A great value.
So I expected to share the bathroom/shower, but it turned out that non en suite just means that I have my own bathroom/shower but just across the hallway.
The room was very clean with really nice sheets and comfy mattress.
Wireless worked very well.
Breakfast was great - eggs, bacon, cheese, yogurt, fruit and the works.
They have great pools and fireplaces (even though I did not make use of it).
Also a nice restaurant nearby for good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank song64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The house was perfect for my week stay in Cape Town. It is located in a nice, quiet, safe neighborhood. I wanted a guest house out of the city but not too far - Cotswold was perfect! The drive into Cape Town isn't bad, but I would highly recommend having a rental car for this location. The staff was very helpful and always had breakfast ready first thing in the morning. I would highly recommend staying at Cotswold and I hope to be back!

Room Tip: The single room is small, but was just fine for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephsr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
1.1 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
#1 of 4 in Century City
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hajo's Lodge
Hajo's Lodge
#3 of 22 in Milnerton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Roche Guest House
La Roche Guest House
#1 of 22 in Milnerton
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
#2 of 10 in Milnerton
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Guest House

Property: Cotswold Guest House
Address: 6 Cotswold Drive, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Guest House Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing