We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Milnerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

stayed there from 2/24 to 2/26.

after seeing the nice pictures we were very disappointed when being led up a steep and narrow stairway into an attic with cheap furniture and tiny barred window. banged my head a couple of times...found hairs in the bed...

the effort has been made to make it up by a modernist bathroom but I had to sit in the tub and shower with the spray in my hand…and the hair drier didn't work...

packed up again and moved to another ground floor room the next morning. this room is better but there is no electricity when we moved in. took half an hour or so to fix it...and just found out the nice pictures belong to the cotswold guesthouse across the street. the place we stayed is a Lagoon Lodge…

the host Bettina is friendly enough. but in general this Lagoon Lodge lacks the cozy and comfy atmosphere we experienced in our previous B&Bs. also this is the only B&B i ever stayed with a regulation to tip R30/day (which i broke with no guilty feeling).

won't come back or recommend this B&B to any of my friends.

Room Tip: good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at the Cotswold House "Loft" from the 16th Dec-26th Dec ,2013. We were a group of 2 adults and 2 children. We were visiting the various CT attractions during this time. At all times we had access to Bettina(owner) who gave us guidance on the places to visit and she arranged the rental car for us to get around.We had a very pleasant stay and our children enjoyed the space available at the loft which is very important for a family vacation.
The breakfast was very special.It was made to order and does not indicate of the wastefullness at a 5-star joint instead of good items all round .This is also very important so that you donot stuff yourself or waste unneccessarily .
All the staff were extremely friendly.
The whole place has no rush about it therefore i loved it.

Room Tip: Families take the loft with two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jikku B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Having just returned from Antarctica, I wanted a quiet, comfortable and relaxed accommodation. I experienced this and more with the staff at Cotswold. The breakfast was hearty and home"made", served on a linen tablecloth. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

There was a mix up with our booking so they upgraded our room, but every room we saw at Cotswold Guest House was really nice. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The guest house is an easy drive to Cape Town and is within walking distance to a few restaurants on the beach. They have gated parking if you have a vehicle. I highly recommend Cotswold Guest House it was truly our best experience in a hotel ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MochileroBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

superb service, great breakfast and friendlyness. safe area and easy to reach capetown and the airport in almost no time. golf course just around the corner. can there be anything better?
It´s been an absolute pleasure staying with you

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank netfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is certainly a lovely old house, originally the Governors house in days gone by. Great views of the lighthouse and Table mountain and a short walk to the beach.(across a busy road and round the lagoon.) We were lucky enough to see a flock of flamingoes descending on the lagoon, a very pretty sight!
The hotel, which also includes the house across the road, is very well kept, with nice gardens and 2 pools.
My room was in the house across the road, 19 Cotswold Drive, and on average I would say this is preferable to staying in the main house where my colleague stayed as she complained of the noisy road, a noisy motor?? and in the morning the pervading smell of breakfast in the room!
Ours was a business trip and this hotel was not ideal as the few members of staff seem to disappear at lunch time so any questions have to wait for the following day.
Only breakfast is served here but there are some decent eateries to be found next to the lighthouse about 10 minutes walk away.
This is in a residential area and I couldn't see any shops nearby. There is however a very good bus service on the main road behind the hotel. Buses run about every 1o minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms in house across the road seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My wife and I and our 16-year-old son have just spent six nights here. It's a lovely place run by lovely people. We stayed in the Montagu room - which is clean and spacious with a large modern bathroom, two sofas, and an area with a third bed. The views from the window - of the garden, Table Bay, and Table Mountain, were wonderful. The breakfasts each morning were excellent, and the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Montagu room is the largest and best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollywicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
1.1 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge Lodge
Woodbridge Lodge
#15 of 23 in Milnerton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Brookston
The Brookston
#4 of 23 in Milnerton
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lagoon Lodge Guest House
#7 of 23 in Milnerton
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hajo's Lodge
Hajo's Lodge
#3 of 23 in Milnerton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Guest House

Address: 6 Cotswold Drive, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Milnerton
Price Range: £49 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cotswold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Guest House Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing