We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Best View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We chose this hotel because it offered beach access and a great view of table mountain- just what we wanted before leaving the continent the next morning.We enjoyed a delicious meal at the Thai restaurant, sunset from the beach bar and a peaceful, comfortable night's sleep to the sound of the sea.



Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
3 of 5 stars Value
5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Service

Room Tip: Dont even think about not getting a room with a sea view- htat's the best thing about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Lindyll

Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to hear you ended your holiday off on a high note and we hope you will return to Cape Town soon.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    508
    200
    103
    75
See reviews for
301
448
56
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our family of 4 (2 Adults/ 2 Children) stayed in a 2-bedroom, self-catering apartment with a view of the sea from our balcony. We enjoyed the location- It was right on the water and very relaxing. We had rented a car which was helpful for getting around to other locations in and around Capetown. However, the hotel did have some shuttle services available as well but we did not utilize them. The room had plenty of space with many amenities available and free secured parking in a garage. The one thing we would change is that they fix/ provide free WiFi in the Apartments. We had to go to the main hotel/ pool area in order to have access to WiFi. Otherwise, we loved our stay at Lagoon Beach. The Hotel Staff were very helpful and even helped fix my son's glasses during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathTravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear CathTravelRN,

Thank you so much for your positive review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly we arranged a pick up from the hotel on our arrival at Cape Town international airport. We waited an hour for driver. The company " tusk" that the hotel outsourced the pick up to called us and was abusive to us on the phone insisting his driver was there and he clearly wasn't. The driver confirmed on his arrival that he was waiting at a garage nearby. We did get an apology from hotel but no follow up as to the behavior of the abusive car hire employee etc. with a bad start to holiday we already late for our dinner reservation rush to check in and only to find our room which boasted a mountain view was blocked by the building in front and a part of the hotel. Not pleasant. Overall location is excellent but make sure don't get rooms 249 or in that area! Sea view beat for the experience but book early cause always full. Room was basic no bins in bathroom though and no soap provided. Our telephone didn't work and the sliding door didn't lock. I ha a sleepless night stressing over someone climbing onto balcony.

Breakfast was good but same selection everyday! No variety!

Nice outside bar area where you can have cocktails beautiful view of Cape Town. Beach right outside hotel.

Nice but definitely not 4 star quality.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear PatriciaZA

Thank you for your comments and please accept my sincerest apologies for the service your received from TUSK.

I have raised your complaint with them but if you would be kind enough to email me directly, I will get them to contact you and offer a personal apology.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A reasonable experience. Clean, tidy and good facilities.
Breakfast staff under par in being helpful and understanding requests for food and beverage.

Dinner staff much more experienced and friendly.
Good value for money.
A free shuttle to the lively V & A Waterfront very useful.
Quite and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a westerly view of ocean, table mountain and Cape Town sky line. Beautiful scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Franklin & Veronica

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry to hear you had mixed review on our hotel but thank you for your honesty.

Following the comment on the breakfast staff we have started retraining in the restaurant and am hoping we are able to improve on what you experienced.

I do hope you will return at some stage and that you will notice a change.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

It is a comfortable hotel for a quick visit to Cape Town. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a nice view. It is far from the touristic area but there is a shuttle bus that you can arrange at the front desk for drop-off and pick up free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Travel_RBL

Thank you for your kind words in TA, I hope you will return soon and hopefully be able to get a better rating than 3 on your next visit.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

After reading all the reviews on Trip advisor, I was very afraid of what awaited me at the Lagoon beach hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very comfortable room with a gift on arrival, air-conditioning, excellent staff who waited on our every need and superb views to die for!!! Thank you to the staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one. I'm really impressed with the people, service and breath taking views in Cape Town. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone especially during the months of February/March. We had 5 glorious days of sun.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanisha546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Vanisha546

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will return very soon.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked this Apt through RCI but were unable to use our banked points, on arrival you would think you are entering an office block. After parking the car, we were helped with our luggage to a ground floor apt, we asked for a sea view and was told that RCI members were only given standard rooms. The resort as 3 pools, one for the Apt and 2 for the Hotel, the Apt pool had 2 sunbeds one of which was broken. The claim a courtesy bus runs into CapeTown, it has a total cost of R180 per trip but even though when we traveled 4 couples were on board it still cost R150. The Apt was clean and spacious but the fridge did not work and even though reported to the reception desk nothing was done, we were unable to use the dishwasher as the door of the dishwasher would not open as it collided with the fridge door. The public areas were dirty, and the route to the Hotel pool was used as a smoking area, with the cigarette butts left on the floor. You can use public transport which runs close to the Apts but remember to purchase your card from the travel office at R30 per person before 5pm and load the card with Rands to cover your fare.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Steve M

Thank you for your review but I think you have the wrong property. Did you perhaps book through Sunstay Apartments? They also have apartments in Lagoon Beach. The reason I ask this is because Lagoon Beach Hotel is not associated with RCI so it would be impossible to book our hotel through RCI, Sunstays, however is associated with RCI. Our courtesy shuttle to the V&A Waterfront is also free so if you paid for it, you could not have used the Lagoon Beach Hotel service.

If you would be so kind as to reallocate your review to the appropriate property where you stayed.

Regards,

Andre Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
4.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.4 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Lagoon Gate Drive, Lagoon Beach, Milnerton 8000, South Africa (Formerly Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Beach Hotel offers unequalled vistas of Table Mountain and Atlantic Ocean. Immersed in an atmosphere of contemporary minimalist design and neutral tones, reflecting the natural surrounding environment. Decor is typical of a stylishly appointed modern city hotel. The hotel's 32 beach frontage deluxe suites offer a breathtakingly unique oceanside experience. Ten minutes from Cape Town's Waterfront, with direct access to the beach. Abalone Brassiere is a culinary delight to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Hotel And Apartments
Lagoon Beach Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Apartments
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing