We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach Location and Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location away from the city, but a close drive to everything. Beach, view of Table Mountain and pool area beautiful. We were initially given a 2 bedroom/2 bath that was dated and worn with stains. After a lengthy discussion with 2 levels of management, we were moved to a much cleaner & updated room, and provided with fans as there is no air condintioning and it was hot! Only warning is that there seems to be quite a variety in the quality of rooms that are offered at this property, hopefully you get a good one!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cauchbavie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Great views of table mountain. A little out of town so a car is a necessity. No wifi in the rooms. It is only really available in the lobby of the hotel. The room was dated. Old and tired carpet and couch. No airconditioning though it is probably not commonly required. The sliding door to the balcony would not lock. The front door had been forced open and the timber around the lock had been pushed back into place. The safe showed signs of previously being forced open also. There was cracking around the tiles, basin and cupboard in the bathroom. Mould in the shower and tiled floor was pretty bad. The room was serviceable but next time I'd stay at camps bay somewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardBeukes, Owner at Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Mat,

Thank you for your review. Our sincere apology that your recent stay was not satisfactory. Sunstays strives to delight our guests and we manage to do this more often than not. Your review is disconcerting and I am investigating what went wrong but unfortunately am unable to find you on our system. We would appreciate your feedback on who you booked through and who the operator was. Is it at all possible that you actually did not stay in a Sunstays Lagoon beach apartment and perhaps stayed in an apartment operated by a non graded agency in the same complex?

The vast majority of our two bedroom self catering apartments have been refurbished and re-decorated by a renown artist/interior decorator. We also have WiFi access to all rooms through a login system. Our front desk are on call 24 hours a day to assist with any matters you may be unhappy with - be that WiFi connection, security, maintenance etc.

Please feel free to contact me directly so that we may rectify the situation.
Kind regards, Gerhard Beukes CEO

Could it be at all possible that

In the Lagoon Beach Apartment complex, Sunstays is the main operator of self catering apartments and we are certified as a four star establishment with the Hotel Grading Council. We are committed and obliged to maintain their standards. Is it at all possible that you actually did not stay in a Sunstays apartment and perhaps stayed in an apartment operated by a non graded agency.


Kind regards, Gerhard Beukes CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wonderful location with breathtaking views. Lovely resort with good central location from all of Cape town. More care needs to be taken with the supervision of the cleaning of the units. All in all you can have a very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Quiet, good central location. Apartment nicely furnished and decorated, walk out onto the beach. Second bedroom noisy as right on the passage en route to the conference centre - sadly no sleeping in on holiday as attendees walk past early mornings making huge noise.
The gardens are attractive but need more regular cleaning as litter accumulates in the flower beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbier41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The position was incredible. The apartment was lovely. However
It was not very clean and despite lovely furniture and decoration- very poor utensils. Kitchen badly stocked. No salt and pepper!!!! A first.

The passageways were filthy. Cleaner refused to clean balcony. Large balcony poorly furnished.

Our apartment got very little sun so important to ensure that you book one that is not in the middle.

Area prone to wind.
Lovely walks on beach and walkways. Plenty of excellent restaurants in walking distance. Great best views of table mountain.

Love the area.

Won't return unless the place is properly cleaned.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardBeukes, Owner at Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Mespey, we cannot 'find' you in our booking system? Nor can we find any record of a cleaner being asked to clean a balcony? Are you sure you stayed with Sunstays?

Our mission is to delight our guests and we respond immediately to any challenge that is brought to our attention and we fix it.

The seasonal high wind days does make it challenging to keep our passages as clean as we like them to be. Nature on some days brings dust faster than we can sweep.

We do have a number of different 'classes' of apartments depending on position and amenities. Please do select from our website and we are always happy to show you other available apartments if you are not in love with the original one you checked into.
Gerhard Beukes CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in November, in the self catering apartments. The photos above depict exactly what we got. The location is brilliant, very quiet but close enough to the city centre. Our apartment was on the 2nd floor, so no direct access to the beach, although we were lucky to have a balcony with a view of the lagoon and beach. The rooms are spacious, with ample storage, the kitchen/dining and living room arrears were huge. More than enough space, even with two children. All cooking/dining utensils etc are provided, glasses, plates, everything you need for a comfortable stay. Reception staff are wonderful and will do there up most to help you. Our apartment was also cleaned daily. The shuttle service is reliable and the drivers are brilliant, we used this occasionally but got into town using the MyCiti buses, these run on the main road, are super cheap and easiest metro system I've used. We also used the trains, stick to first class, but again brilliantly cheap. Both WangThai and the main hotel restaurant offer excellent and good value meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulesF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in a ground floor apartment, a stone's throw from the beach. The service was excellent, the views were first rate, the beach was fantastic. Highly recommended. The local sushi/Thai restaurant is very good too. A safe and secure environment, with easy access into town as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CultureBloggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
0.1 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
4.8 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Town Beachfront Apartments at Leisure Bay
2.7 mi away
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
Colors of Cape Town Lodge
#1 of 11 in Milnerton
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hajo's Lodge
Hajo's Lodge
#3 of 22 in Milnerton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments

Address: Lagoon Beach Road | Lagoon Gate drive, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Milnerton
Price Range: £75 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunstays Lagoon Beach four star accommodation consists of a variety of self-catering apartments and Superior Suites on the beach. A mere 10 minutes drive from the Cape Town city bowl with private balconies with views of table mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments Hotel Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Apartments Milnerton
Sunstays Lagoon Beach Apartments Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing