We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
167
37
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
37
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecape townlovely guesthousehealthy breakfastgreat hostslarge bathroomperfect placesouth africakingsize bedeggs and baconquality linenfamily unitdutch couplegood sizewelcome drinkstayed longerrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed at the guest house for 3 nights in December and I wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts definitely have a good eye for attention to detail and making the stay comfortable. Our room (family unit, but actually nicely suitable for 2 people) was very comfortable and clean. Great quality of sleep! We enjoyed the views over the fields and the ocean in the distance and the welcoming lower swimming pool (they have 2 of them, but the upper one is smaller).

The location is good, my only comment is that one does need a car (or be a very keen walker/runner/cyclist) for go to the beach, shops or restaurants. For us it wasn't an issue

Without doubt I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Slav103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Thank you to Mark & Marjolijn for your hospitality and making our stay so wonderful. The rooms and the facilities are top notch and nothing is too much trouble. African Queen is in a beautiful part of Cape Town and so close to all the major tourist attractions. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOhannessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We booked - but we could not go as my husband was seriously ill.

Cancelation fee was 70 %. This was okay for us. But the 30 % of the desposit was never retransfered. No reaction on different mails and skype Messages.
It seems to be a good guesthouse (we had friends staying there), but in case that you have to cancel you might no get your Money back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse A, Owner at African Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Ellen,

Thanks for your 'review'. We have had challenging couple of months behind us as Marjolijn's father has been very ill, she has been back to Germany to visit him and he recently passed away. We are indeed behind on our admin but we haven't forgotten you and will indeed refund you the 30% as promised!

We do apologize for the inconvenience and we hope we will be able to host you in the future.

Kind regards,
AFRICAN QUEEN GUESTHOUSE
Marc & Marjolijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Had a lovely stay at African Queen guesthouse for a long weekend break. The guesthouse has a very warm homey feel to it and is lovely decorated. They have lovely swimming pools, the weather was not nice enough to try them out but will keep in mind on the next visit. Will recommend this guesthouse for anyone looking for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnicanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Beautiful guest house, lovely clean rooms and stunning garden and pools. The guest house is well situated to explore the peninsular with a lot of beautiful places to enjoy that are close by. Marjolijn and Marc are most welcoming and the breakfast that is supplied is a real feast!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janinemariea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews