We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Violet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Violet
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a lovely 6 days at the end of our South Africa trip here. It felt good to settle and use this place as a base. Jenny was very accommodating to us, despite our late arrival with a grumpy baby.
She had even offered to do a spot of shopping so we could make a quick dinner and fall into bed.
The place is clean and furnished with simple yet quality items. We liked that we didn't feel like we had to tip toe around, we even broke a wine glass and was told it was no big deal!
Jenny has a rare talent in a host, she knew just how much information to give us and when to leave us be. Yet was there to help instantly if we asked.

The only down side was it was a little bit further from Cape town than I expected.

If you stay here two musts are breakfast at slip slops and a pick nick basket at cape point vineyard. Stunning afternoon there where we met a couple who had just booked to get married. Might make plans to do a vow renewal just so I can go back and sip wine there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helle1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
115
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My bridesmaids and I stayed in the Garden Suite for my wedding in March, we received such good service and snacks were provided while we were getting ready for the big day. With more than enough light and space for camera, video and hair and make up people to move around and do what they need to do. Beautiful scenery with pool and entertainment area yet private in your own apartment with designated outside seating area for alone time. Definately a good experience. Leigh-ann

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinghornl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My boyfriend and i stayed here in March, in the honey moon suite.
Upon arrival i was amazed with how beautiful it all was! It exceeded our expectations and more.
Jennie greeted us when we arrived and gave us all the necessary information we needed, then left us be. Both jennie and Rob were very patient with all the questions we had to ask throughout the holiday and it was never any trouble for them to help.
Our apartment was fully equipped, with all the cooking utensils you need. The jacuzzi bath inside definitely won us over! Bed was comfy too.
The location was perfect! Before we got there we was slightly worried it would be in the middle of no where with nothing to do, it was completely the opposit. The apartment was secluded, but also lots to do near by. Would definitely recommend Imhoff Farm and also there is a food festival in Cape Town Vineyards once a week where theres lots of little stalls of food and drinks and the atmosphere and views are great!
Overall we loved Cape Town and couldnt of asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked the Design Studio for 4 nights and as the other comments helped us to make our decision for African Violet, we want to fully confirm them with our own review:
Although the smallest appartment, the stylish furnished Design Studio is spacious for 2 people. The bed is big and comfy, the kitchen has everything you need for self catering, shopping facilities are within max. 5 min by car, which can be safely parked behind a gate at the appartment. The lovely little terrace has a beautiful view over the village and the ocean.
The location is perfect for exploring the peninsula and not too far for visits in Cape Town. Jennifer is really nice and helpful and gave us good advice. For fish lovers a dinner at Harbour House in Kalk Bay should be obligatory! Perfect fish and wine! You can ask Jennifer for reservations, what she did for us. Thank you for the good time, we truly enjoyed it!

Eva & Jonas

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We've been here many times, and it's always a very nice and relaxing experience. Each apartment is very individually designed and nicely equipped. The hosts are just great and very helpful and I noted continous improvement over the years. Most bathrooms and walls are featured with exposed concrete, giving it a very special puristic atmosphere and modern style which fits nicely into the region. Especially during hot summers it gives a chilling and comfortable feeling. The apartments are very clean and I never missed anything. I can highly recommend this accomodation which has beatiful views, is greatly located in a very secure area.

Room Tip: Each apparment has it's own charter, depending what you are looking for. There is no better or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in the loft suite for 5 nights with our 2 and 4 year old and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were very well looked after, had everything we needed in the accommodation and loved the amazing views from every window. It's a great location to explore False Bay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulau77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We really had a great time in African Violet.
We were their with our children (2 and 3 years).
Great place to stay, it is a quiet area.
Not far from the centre of Cape Town by car.
We will absolutely come back next time!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.9 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 11 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 11 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sacred Mountain Lodge
Sacred Mountain Lodge
#5 of 11 in Noordhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Violet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Violet

Property: African Violet
Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Violet Noordhoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing