We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Amazing Trip of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Epic Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Epic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Noordhoek B&B and Inns
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Trip of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a Safari with Epic Enabled. I use an electric wheelchair and have for pretty much my whole life. We have traveled all over the world from India to the mountains of Alaska, and this trip with Epic Enabled was a dream come true. The staff was amazing, from the office that helped with the reservation, to the guide Alfie and his assistant Charles. They knock themselves out to give you the best trip possible. The animal viewing was so incredible, we saw the big 5 including the highly endanger black Rhino. We came with feet of a cheetah with its just taken down prey. Were up close to every type of wildlife you can imagine. I thought that we would see an elephant or two at a great distance, but we saw dozens within maybe 50 to 100 feet away. It takes your breath away.

The hotel and three different bush camps we stayed at were all accessible and easy to get around in, from raised toilets to roll in shower, Epic was so on top of things that when we checked in to our hotel, Alfie notice the hotel did not have a hand held shower, so he went out got one and installed it himself to make it easier for me. Its not his hotel but he just wanted everything just right.

The vehicles they use was great, you get your chair clamped down and I felt safe at all times.
The vehicle is a bit taller than a regular land rover but that just makes the game viewing better. Now is everything as pristine and ADA (American with Disability Act) compliant as back in California. Of course not, you are visiting a third world country and going out in the the wilderness where lions and rhinos can be seen in their natural habitat, But can you do it? An absolute yes. If you want things just like home, stay home.

We had a total in our safari of just 9 people (3 chair user consisting of 2 quads and one para), and we all did everything everyone else did. When ever we needed help the crew was always there. I never felt scared just enjoyed the thrill of my life. I know that when i considered making a reservation I would have loved to chat with someone with a disability that does not have an interest in the company. You can Email me at docd55@yahoo.com and i can answer your questions or at least try.
Again amazing put this trip on your bucket list and go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocDan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

epic guest house is a great place to stay while visiting cape town.the staff are friendly and very helpful.the location is perfect for exploring the peninsular south of cape town and offers stunning sunsets every evening.also close by is a great shopping mall which has all your shopping needs and great bargains..this area of south africa is a must see and epic guest house is the perfect place to see it from.very homely and nothing is too much trouble .i shall be going back to epic what a place..........

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sempach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I had a great time in South Africa staying in the epic guest house. The owner was extremly friendly, gave us very useful advices about what we could/should see and do around Capetown. The house was lovely and very clean. I can recommend the epic guest house to everybody

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Had a great time in South Africa with Epic Enabled - Joburg, Kruger, private game reserve, and Capetown. Great people and very eay to deal with - as a group we had pre-requested some items of the trip and the guide was flexible and had some great alternative ideas as well - Accommodation excellent , as well as the equipment provided - a great stress free holiday for everyone. Within our group of friends we had peole in wheelchairs, mobility issues, visual impairment , and brain injury -quite a variety of complex personalities however everyone commented on the relaxed, yet smooth running of the tours. For several in the group it was a repeat experience - though when animals are involved there is no repeat experience - each one is different and special at the time to the various individuals. The focus of the group was to view the wildlife and also have the opportunity to get up close to others - which is certainly a possibility at Tshukudu - yes many of the animals have been orphaned and it has been necessary for them to have had human contact but they are not 'tame'. None of the group had any issues with any of the vehicles in which we were transported - they appreciated the efforts of Alfie and Jakes for them to be able to transfer to sit and travel in the usual game drive vehicles -. Capetown Accommodation was five plus star - "absolutely marvellous" was one comment, and the mix of organised tours and free time was appreciated. Everyone had a great time - and some are already saving for yet another trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emlft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have four people including 2 wheelchairs spent 7 days in Kruger led by Alfie. Very knowledgeable and has told us a lot and pretty things. Then we have 6 days in the hospital and Alfie Sabiene in Cape town. Never in such a beautiful location and large been. Also in Cape town had beautiful tours. The care of Sabien was great. So Alfie and Sabien great thank you, our holiday a great holiday made​​.

Ed en Heennie Baks
Gouda
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms adapted for disabled people in a very good location. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Baks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Alfie and Sabine made our stay in Cape Town a truly memorable experience. Their attention to detail in providing the rooms in the Epic Guest House with the space and amenities for a wheelchair user is exceptional and ensure that a disabled visitor can relax in very comfortable surroundings with ease and independence.
We visited many amazing places in and around the city of Cape Town in Alfie's wheelchair adapted minibus from the top of Table Mountain to the Cape of Good Hope - these trips were made all the more enjoyable by Alfie's interesting descriptions and comments along the way.
All in all, our visit to Cape Town 'ticked all the boxes' for an excellent, wheelchair friendly holiday.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisalBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Not far from Cape Town to visit the town, the Tablemountain and Cape Hope. Few minutes to a amazing scenic drive along the atlantic the guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay. And the hosts are so nice and friendly. Sabine tells us so much about the region and the living there. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: We take the biggest room, beacause we are two wheelchairdriver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horstus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
3.5 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 10 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 10 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epic Guest House

Property: Epic Guest House
Address: 7 Wolf Power Close | PO Box 1991, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accessible Epic Guest House is situated in rustic Noordhoek at the foot of famous Chapman’s Peak, in Cape Town - South Africa. We offer accessible B&B accommodation for everybody - no barriers! 4 disabled friendly bedrooms 2 being spacious en-suite family rooms as well as 2 double/twin rooms (with their own separate bathrooms), all with accessible roll-in showers and very inviting comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Epic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Guest House Noordhoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing