We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private & Tranquil - Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey Valley Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Noordhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Private & Tranquil - Very good stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was my third stay at Monkey Valley and I'd certainly go back. This time around I booked 2 nights and ended up staying for 4 nights - the location is just so relaxing. The check-in process takes a bit longer than usual, and if you have quite a few bags of luggage, the walk up to your chalet can be a bit tiring but their staff are happy to assist with carrying your bags for you.

I've stayed in Crowned Eagle (best option), Tadpole (ideal for singles or a couple) and most recently Albatross which is a 6-sleeper double storey chalet ideal for self-catering.

Albatross has a beautiful panoramic view over the wetlands and beach.

Highlight of my stay was free use of the sauna at any time, the beautiful views, tranquility, privacy and superb meal. Our waitress Leonie gave excellent service (possibly the best I've ever had), recommending wines and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Other guests were friendly and I'd recommend at least 2 nights to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

WiFi and daily cleaning was included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    68
    44
    24
    21
See reviews for
54
83
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked my family in to a 6 sleeper chalet for the week end, from the time I booked until we left the staff were amazing ! Friendly and helpful in every way!.We were given a cosy table in front of the fire on the Friday night, the food was first class as was the service.The chalets were homely and the linen was crisp and beautiful.one can lye in bed whilst taking in the breathtaking views of long each, with it's white sands and mountains to the left!
I highly recommend this very affordable resort, what a treat!

Room Tip: Baboon lodge was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife Claudette and I were given a gift by our daughter to spend one night here on the 26th June 2013 as a birthday gift. The gift included a standard room with a full breakfast. We arrived late in the evening and booked in, we were shown to a comfortable room not to far from the reception and restaurant. After settling in we found a little problem with a smell in the room, being my birthday my wife wanted only the best for us, so she cotacted the reception to ask if someone could sort it out for us. It wasn't too long and the duty manager arrived, after an inspection and explanation I could accept he noticed that wifey was not satisfied, he therefore offered to show her another room, about ten minutes later they returned. Claudette just said, 'let's pack' and off we were, they relocated us to a super luxury apartment with beautiful views, everything turned out as good as it can get. Dinner was excellent, and so was our breakfast. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for the best possible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a bad experience going to a place where the owners or directors not even returning a call or try to listen to a customer complaint. The carpets were wet and the smell in the cottage was very bad. Then tried to make a fire with wet wood (supplied by the lodge) with a broken fire-place. Then had to remove my kids in the cold and dark to another cottage with the same experience.Dirty dishes and a smoke covered experience after the fire was made by one of the lodge workers. Then had to evacuate in order to escape from the smoke and drive back home late the same evening. Both my kids is sick (due to the cold and smoke) and the one must qualify for Western Provence gymnastics, missing her practises. I am still awaiting a reply on a detail email send on Sunday night. The equipment in the cottage was not complete or old.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Noordhoek hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A surprise birthday night at Monkey Valley Resort was an absolute treat! A cosy thatched room with fire place, a balcony with views across the bay to Kommetjie lighthouse, an excellent dinner in the dining room which is transformed at night by candles and fairy lights and is only to be outdone by the view in the morning - the ocean framed by milkwood trees makes you feel you could be on an exotic island anywhere in the world. A big thank you to all the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome! We would've stayed all week if possible!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely. Rustic and charming. The staff are friendly, the Service is good and the views are spectacular. To me it looks like a perfect wedding venue. It's typically african. I hope to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggiefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. Firstly it is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the Cape, right at the end of Chapmans Peak drive. The charming thatch roofed cottages are set back on the hill amongst the beautiful rainforest surrounds. Every cottage has a stunning view. The property stretches all the way to the breathtakingly beautiful Noordhoek beach. We recently had our wedding at Monkey Valley and it was the most perfect day we could have wished for. We had over 30 guests travel from all over the world (mostly Australia) and we were all hugely impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were. The bar staff in particular were fantastic, immediately making an effort to strike up a connection with our guests. Mirielle, the events manager did an outstanding job in making sure our day ran to plan, her warmth, kindness and genuine happiness for us on our day will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard-lowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
3.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
10.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 10 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Valley Resort

Property: Monkey Valley Resort
Address: Mountain Road | Off Beach Rd, Noordhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst ancient Milkwood trees and overlooking 8 kilometres of Noordhoek beach is Monkey Valley Resort. World's apart from city living yet only 25 minutes to the centre of Cape Town - Monkey Valley Resort is an atypical splendor tucked onto the southern slopes of Chapman's Peak Drive. The resort offers a blend of self-catering old world log and brick thatched luxury cottages and bedrooms. Each is hidden in private alcoves within the rare milkwood forest, ensuring complete seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Monkey Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Valley Beach Nature Hotel Noordhoek
Monkey Valley Resort Noordhoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing