We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm stay”
Review of Boesmanskop

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boesmanskop
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Farm stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A very interesting place to stay. Lovely huge room, and although rather a remote location in a farming area, this was part of the charm. A real working farm whose owner turned out to be a superb cook! One of the best meals we had in South Africa, and breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: There seemed to be only one room here, which was very good. 'Rustic chic' probably best desc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I totally agree with the other reviews.
Tinnie is a fantastic host, his attention to detail is amazing, he is a great cook... His guest house is really a great place to spend a few days (strangely not a hotel in Oudtshoorn, though!). Probably the best place in South Africa.
Don't forget your camera!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

After a long day over the Swartberg pass Boesmanskop was a welcome oasis in the middle of the Klein Karoo mountains.

The views from the farm are spectacular. Its a photographers dream as well as anyone interested in the outdoors and wanting to take long walks into the beautiful mountains and surrounds.

Tinnie's attention to detail is fantastic in the house as well as in the guest rooms and other areas. The rooms are beautifully furnished. There is even a swimming pool and snooker room.

The food was exceptional. Tinnie is an undercover gourmet chef waiting to be discovered. The fresh ingredients was a welcome change to the processed food one finds in the larger cities. The presentation of the food was brilliant.

The hospitality was excellent and quite frankly given another opportunity to visit the Karoo Boesmanskop will be my first port of call.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms at Boesmanskop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were amazed at the stunning location of Boesmanskop as we arrived and thought it could not get any better....but it did. Boesmanskop is an absolute gem and reminds me a bit of the french countryside in the middel of Klein Karoo mountains.

The farm is stunning and the views amazing.it has one of the most special gardens ever and Tinnie Bekker (owner and host) keeps all perfectly maintained. Our had loads of character (even a wine barrel bath!) with special pieces sourced or build by Tinnie himself. We enjoyed our lovely stoep (where we spent most of our time) and loved the stunning swimmingpool after cycling and exploring by foot.

One of the biggest treats of our trip was the amazing dinners Tinnie prepared paired with Carlitsdorp Sauvignon Blanc. His dining room will give the best restaurants in the country a go! Fantastic food - fresh, tasty, special Karoo Gourmet!

I will highly recommend Boesmanskop to all - its a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and enjoy the ultimate Karoo Getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
22.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
11.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
22.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
22.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
21.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boesmanskop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boesmanskop

Property: Boesmanskop
Address: Route 62, Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing