We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulders Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Ranked #26 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Boulders. It is in a scenic and convenient location for exploring the Oudtshoorn Area. Great service and restaurant advice.

The only improvement I would suggest is more comfortable indoor seating in the cold weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    45
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
61
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The stay was very good. We needed the break away and enjoyed ourselves immensly. It was close to the Cango caves as well as the Cango wild life park. The service was friendly and professional. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersCG, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Danielle

Thank you for your recent visit to Boulders Lodge & Spa and your review. We appreciate your support and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Le Roux van Dyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Despite the pleasant location and luxurious room which was very nicely presented, overall, we had a slightly disappointing stay, especially given the price. We don't often splash out on pricey boutique accommodation, so doing so to find that the advertised spa is not available without so much as an apology or offer to make a plan for us was a let down. Not the best value for money i'm afraid :(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersCG, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Lisa

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to Boulders Lodge & Spa. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy about the spa being closed.

Please accept my apology for the spa not being available. During a short period in July we did not have a spa therapist available, the first time in our 4.5 years as owners. We had extra therapists lined up from town, but they were not always available either. We would have loved to have them do your treatments if they could. I am sorry this was not clearly explained in an expected hospitable manner. I am happy to say that since your stay here we have now outsourced the spa. The therapist owner has years of experience and her vested interest should prove invaluable in ensuring client satisfaction.

I am glad you enjoyed our location and rooms. We continue to strive to upgrade our facilities and service.

We hope you will visit again in future and we will do our utmost best to surpass your expectations.

Kindest regards,
Le Roux van Dyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Boulders Lodge and ... is a very nice place, just a bit disappointed about the spa that is advertised and not available on my arrival. Otherwise we had a very pleasant time at Boulders Lodge & ... I will recommend my family and friends to come and stay here whenever they visit oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charltonconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersCG, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear charltonconrad

Thank you for your review posted, we appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the spa not being open. For the first time in 4.5 years as owners we did not have a therapist available. Since then we have outsourced the spa and the new therapist/owner is very excited to serve our guests and focused on client satisfaction. We do ask our clients to please book the spa in advance though. This is the only way of absolutely knowing if there is space available and securing your spa experience.

I am very glad you liked our guesthouse and had a pleasant time. We enjoy meeting new people and your friends and family are most welcome at Boulders Lodge & Spa.

Warm Oudtshoorn regards,
Le Roux van Dyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosselbay
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The establishment advertised a deal including a night stay and spa treatment but we were informed after our booking that the spa were closed for the long weekend (witch was a busy weekend in the area)



  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 633PeterV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersCG, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for posting a review of Boulders Lodge & Spa. It is very upsetting to hear of how your booking was handled.

I can only imagine that there must have been a misunderstanding, because packages are never booked without the spa being open. Please accept my sincerest apology and a promise that I will personally train my reservation team to ensure no future guests can have this experience.

Thank you also for the rest of your scores given, we will continue to aim higher in every aspect of the guest experience at Boulders Lodge & Spa.

Kindest regards,
Le Roux van Dyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Quality of rooms in general was fine and very clean. Towels were terribly worn. It was difficult to control water temperature in the shower. Only two bottles of water were left for a family of four. Sliding door frame in room required repair. Due to the tiled floors throughout the premises noise reduction was almost non-existent and therefore late night guests were very intrusive. The dining room was convenient and had a good ambience. The lady who served as receptionist and waitress could have been more hospitable. She came across as a bit cold. There was a concern that the guest entrance and main gate were left open for most of the day and late into evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SubenG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersCG, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear SubenG_13

Thank you for your review of Boulders Lodge & Spa. We appreciate all feedback given as this gives us the opportunity to improve specific aspects of our business and see things from our clients' point of view.

To this point I am glad to report that we have started buying in new towels and will over time replace all the older ones. We also closed our doors for four weeks in May and June for general maintenance and to completely renovate one of our rooms. I am still looking into solutions for noise reduction. Your feedback on the reception lady is appreciated, they also sometimes need to be reminded of the difference a simple smile can make to someone else's day, not to mention friendly service is one of our main priorities. With regards to the open gate, I am glad to say Oudtshoorn is one of the more quite, safe towns in South Africa. We do not need to close the gate during the day and it is always closed at 21:30 when the reception staff leaves to go home. This is one of the great things about Oudtshoorn and the Klein Karoo.

It gives me great pleasure that you were happy with our clean rooms and the experience in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in future for another family holiday.

Warm regards,
Le Roux van Dyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Loved the location (end of a cul de sac). Quaint Boutique style Hotel. Spacious room with sliding glass door to Pool and deck area. Good breakfast. Very personable staff. Enjoyed the owner as well. Large grassed and fenced in rear yard.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chances99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Lodge & Spa

Property: Boulders Lodge & Spa
Address: 20 Bruwer Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulders Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy an unforgettable holiday in the Klein Karoo en route to the Cango Caves. The Boulders Lodge is fully air-conditioned, a wi-fi hotspot and a sparkling blue pool and jacuzzi on the deck awaits visitors who are ready to restore peace to body and soul. Boulders Lodge is more than a home away from home, it provides playtime for the kids (Jungle gym), pampering for the weary or romantic (Boulders Spa) and delicious dinners in our dining room when available. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Boulders Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing