We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and peacefull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Ranked #28 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were fortunate in that we were virtually the only people there, so it was very quiet. The only gripe was the hot water. They should put high presssure geysers in as the water was VERY erratic when showering, which made it "interesting". The Chef made us the meal of our choice, and it was world class. Breakfast also very comprehensive and good. All in all, a very nice stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovethailandCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Nice hotel, good and quiet location. nearby Oudtshoorn, and 2 minuts drive to Cango Wildlife Ranch.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcNL1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Adequate room, very good breakfast and particularly pleasant swimming pool. Very well located on edge of the town on road to Cango caves.

The Pomegranate restaurant within the hotel was superb. Obviously a very good chef.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We are arrived at Boulders quite excited. The website looked nice, as did the pictures on the website we booked it on. Spa is also in its name, which implys good things, and it rates itself as a 4 star.

We therefore did not expect;

A room below the hotel, facing a wall, which separated us and a main road.
A single glased patio door which was the only access into the room and which let in the noise.
Because of the entrance and the people traffic past it, we had to shut the curtains at 6.30 at night to gain any privacy, which left us at the mercy of a very gloomy room; no other windows and insufficient lighting.
The bathroom was dirty, and dated. The shower area had mould on the ceiling and the hot water appeared to rely on other guests taking showers.

The room and our signle glased patio door was also steps away from the back gate of the hotel, which was always open and unlocked. Very safe!!

As for the "SPA" it was a room occupied by a beauty therapist. The pool area itself looked pleasant (once again if you could get over the road noise) but intimidating and it was situated bang next to the reception area and resteraunt.

I brought all the baove up with a owner and was told, they are not a hotel, and do not market themselves as such! Interesting, how many B&B's do you know that consider themselves a spa and a 4 star? They were full and unable to move us - you should also be aware every room is different and it does appear there are some nice ones so you may be lucky!!

If i were you i would go to a real hotel, just down the road called the Queens Hotel, which is an actual 4 star. And which by the way is only R100 in total per night. For you brits out their thats £10!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The rooms need to be updated, especially the bathroom.
The breakfast seemed a bit limited.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandare0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed in a poolside room, which was nicely decorated and furnished. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout and the breakfasts were excellent. Food at the 'Pomegranate' restaurant was first class. The location was good because it was not too near the centre Oudtshoorn (which we weren't overwhelmed by) but near enough to be a short drive to all local attractions and the town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Great place to stay. Hidden gem in the Klein Karoo.Will stay here anytime

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d16a7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
2.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
16 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terra Bianca Guest House
Terra Bianca Guest House
#26 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
#14 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
116 reviews
2 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#12 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
320 reviews
7.9 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Lodge & Spa

Address: 20 Bruwer Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulders Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy an unforgettable holiday in the Klein Karoo en route to the Cango Caves. The Boulders Lodge is fully air-conditioned, a wi-fi hotspot and a sparkling blue pool and jacuzzi on the deck awaits visitors who are ready to restore peace to body and soul. Boulders Lodge is more than a home away from home, it provides playtime for the kids (Jungle gym), pampering for the weary or romantic (Boulders Spa) and delicious dinners in our dining room when available. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boulders Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing