We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”
Review of Villa Ora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ora
Ranked #41 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Villa Ora during our 3 weeks travelling in SA. This is the real deal in giving you a real taste of life in this beautiful country. Cannot fault anything at all at Villa Ora - price,food,hospitality,pool. Give it a try when in Oudtshoorn you will be tempted to delay your travelling and stay longer. Eleanor and Gordon, Scotland

Room Tip: room at back of house with direct access to large pool and beautiful garden
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Observatory, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Villa Ora is a beautiful house full of character and very conveniently located. However, as a four star B&B, I felt that some things could have been better - as I am, after all expecting the best from such a highly acclaimed stay.One would expect bathsheets rather than standard bath towels, a kettle with coffee and tea in the room to allow for early morning waking in pj's which no other guest would like to be subjected to, and a television placed with easy viewing so as not to stiffen one's neck whilst trying to watch the rather limited selection of programmes.
Would I stay again ? Not before trying other venues which would satisfy more.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HermienTitlestadvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great B&B in a good location, just a short walk to bars/restaurants/shops. The owners were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Clean & comfortable rooms, nice pool area and lovely breakfast. Make sure you take the pass over the mountains to Prince Albert, interesting drive and great views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

stayed here two nights - great location, wonderful friendly hosts excellent breakfast - nothing to complain about - drove the two passes road - hosts were great on helping us with things to do along the way

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasse
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Very well accommodation, nice welkom by owner. Very kind people. Nice rooms, very clean and space enough. Good swimming pool including drinks etc. Breakfast excellent!
Go on!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexLansink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I spent just one night at Villa Ora recently. Even though we were arriving late on Christmas Day, Ora had already made prior arrangements with a neighbour to let us in and see to our needs. We were made to feel at home and loved our room -Ora took special care to cater to our dieatary needs -and was the only B&B that went out of their way to do so! We have commissioned Thea to paint our cat -she is very talented!

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms -one with a view on the street is better than one directly adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren123Sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at Villa Ora. Ora, educated in the hospitality field, set this home up for guests along with her parents, and they run it together. They were very friendly and anxious to answer all of our questions about the area. The well appointed rooms were clean and fresh and the outside area with pool was inviting. The hot breakfast was delightful in presentation and taste. Coffee, tea and other drinks, including alcohol (on the honor system) were available anytime. We were given several options for dinner, and we chose a restaurant called Bello Cibo where we ordered ostrich fillets. I found it to be the best meal we had in South Africa, tasted like very tender beef. Oudshoorn is a pretty little town, and there is much to do in the area. After exploring some of the scenic areas, we only had time to visit the Cango Caves which were some of the nicest I've seen. As we headed toward Capetown on Rt. 62, catching Rt. 324 at Barrydale, we went through Trudouws Pass. This was a beautiful mountain road. Then we picked up Rt. 60 to Swellendam, passing through Zuurbraak on the way. At Swellendam we had lunch at Bella Alliance where Bobotie (bo bu ty) is a South African specialty dish. It is ground beef (at least that is what I was told) spiced in a special way and served on rice. Delicious!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
9.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
2.5 mi away
De Denne Country Guest House
De Denne Country Guest House
#12 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
332 reviews
8.7 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ora

Property: Villa Ora
Address: 131 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ora 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing