We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Villa Ora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ora
Ranked #41 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at Villa Ora as part of our road trip through South Africa. The location is brilliant, within walking distance from everything in town. Ora was the utmost hospitable and helpful with any questions we had. She even provided us with maps and activities for the area and let us choose what room we were going to stay in. The pool is extremely welcome given the high temperatures in the area. Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antracita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We came in quite late in the evening, a biot worried and tired, but Frans made us feel at home immediately. Villa Ora looks lovely, especially the romantic room we stayed in.
There is a couple of nice restaurants where you can easily walk to, even at night.
Staying with Frans and Thea was like staying at your grandparents' house and getting pampered.
We stayed two nights and saw the best sites, like the Cango Caves, the Cango wildlife ranch, the Swartberg pass and the ostrichs farms.
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Ora.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Villa Ora was a great find - central in the town and just round the corner from the museum (don't miss it - an insight into the town's history) . The family are very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our short stay comfortable - helpful hints and great food beautifully presented. A must place to stay

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

It was 42 degrees celcius in Oudtshoorn when we arrive at Villa Ora. Thank goodness for air conditioned rooms. What a beautifully appointed B&B. It is an old house with gorgeous wooden floors, high ceilings and thick walls. It's furnishings and interior design are exquisite - it's like being in a museum - just stunning. Our hosts were wonderful and very friendly. We had twin beds in our very spacious room and a great bathroom. Spent half the day in the pool which was a lifesaver.

The breakfast was good: cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast, toast etc. Because it's basically in town, we were very close to everything. Unfortunately there's not much in the way of good restaurants for dinner. We went to the Swiss Bistro which was a mistake. Average at best, so don't go there. Villa Ora was superb though - will definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We were recommended to this Guest House by a fellow traveller and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Attention to detail was exceptional. The food was superb and we ate our first Ostrich steak which was cooked and served to perfection. The location was almost centre of the town and there was a wide variety of restaurants in the area. The pretty gardens surrounding the hotel are a credit to the owners hard work and dedication. If you visit this area you will not do better than stay in this 4* guest house.

  • Liked — Attention to detail, caring approach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cazzy22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We stopped just one night on our way down the scenic route of the garden route. From the momemt that we were greeted at the door to the moment we left they could not have done more for us. The friendliness, helpfulness & the service were excellent. We would recommend the Villa Ora to everyone

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robrover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

This is a small b&b just off the main road through the centre, and so very convenient. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating (e.g. serving a late breakfast as we went on an early morning tour with the Meerkat Man - also highly recommended), and helpful with advice. The room was pleasant, and breakfast was very nice - no doubt because the daughter of the house is a chef. She also does evening meals, although we didn't have this. The b&b has a pool, an elegant and relaxing sitting area, with lots of reading matter, and gated off-road parking. Recommended, especially for European visitors wanting to meet some 'real' South Africans as it is almost like staying in a private home.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.3 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
8.3 mi away
Terra Bianca Guest House
Terra Bianca Guest House
#30 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
92 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Little Guest House
Best Little Guest House
#25 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
462 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Denne Country Guest House
De Denne Country Guest House
#12 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
211 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ora

Property: Villa Ora
Address: 131 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ora 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing