We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Villa Ora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ora
Ranked #42 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
GA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at Villa Ora. Ora, educated in the hospitality field, set this home up for guests along with her parents, and they run it together. They were very friendly and anxious to answer all of our questions about the area. The well appointed rooms were clean and fresh and the outside area with pool was inviting. The hot breakfast was delightful in presentation and taste. Coffee, tea and other drinks, including alcohol (on the honor system) were available anytime. We were given several options for dinner, and we chose a restaurant called Bello Cibo where we ordered ostrich fillets. I found it to be the best meal we had in South Africa, tasted like very tender beef. Oudshoorn is a pretty little town, and there is much to do in the area. After exploring some of the scenic areas, we only had time to visit the Cango Caves which were some of the nicest I've seen. As we headed toward Capetown on Rt. 62, catching Rt. 324 at Barrydale, we went through Trudouws Pass. This was a beautiful mountain road. Then we picked up Rt. 60 to Swellendam, passing through Zuurbraak on the way. At Swellendam we had lunch at Bella Alliance where Bobotie (bo bu ty) is a South African specialty dish. It is ground beef (at least that is what I was told) spiced in a special way and served on rice. Delicious!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

my partner and I stayed just one night during our tour of the garden route but the welcome we were given and the service we received was excellent. My partner uses a wheelchair and the hosts made sure everything was comfortable and accessible. I recommend this accommodation to anyone spending time in this area

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waleswoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The house was a beautiful old house, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Ora was an excellent host. She had a good knowledge of the local area and was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this guest house to anyone. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller41Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

From the moment we arrived at the secure parking area we felt as if we were really special. Ora, Thea & Frans, our hosts made us most welcome yet again. It was our third visit in as many years to Villa Ora and for us, nowhere could be more special than this wonderful atmosphere created by them. The breakfasts are second to none with delicious pancakes (if they are on the menu that day!) and super bacon & eggs etc.Villa Ora itself is a gracious lady of some 80 plus years and is very tastefully decorated in an elegant style. The pool is inviting & crystal clear surrounded by beautiful plants & we were able to sit and enjoy a glass of wine whilst soaking up the sunshine. If you are looking for somewhere just that little bit special with hosts who 'go the extra mile' to ensure your stay is perfect then this is the place for you. Thank you Ora, Thea & Frans.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesRoger37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at Villa Ora as part of our road trip through South Africa. The location is brilliant, within walking distance from everything in town. Ora was the utmost hospitable and helpful with any questions we had. She even provided us with maps and activities for the area and let us choose what room we were going to stay in. The pool is extremely welcome given the high temperatures in the area. Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antracita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We came in quite late in the evening, a biot worried and tired, but Frans made us feel at home immediately. Villa Ora looks lovely, especially the romantic room we stayed in.
There is a couple of nice restaurants where you can easily walk to, even at night.
Staying with Frans and Thea was like staying at your grandparents' house and getting pampered.
We stayed two nights and saw the best sites, like the Cango Caves, the Cango wildlife ranch, the Swartberg pass and the ostrichs farms.
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Ora.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Villa Ora was a great find - central in the town and just round the corner from the museum (don't miss it - an insight into the town's history) . The family are very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our short stay comfortable - helpful hints and great food beautifully presented. A must place to stay

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.3 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
9.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#24 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
8.6 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
8.5 mi away
Bisibee Guest House
Bisibee Guest House
#61 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ora

Property: Villa Ora
Address: 131 Church Street | Just off intersection of Baron van Reede an Kerk Streets, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ora 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House / B & B, and now also offering 2 light SELF-CATERING units. Very central - but surprisingly tranquil. We are just a few minutes away from the best restaurants and gift shops in Oudtshoorn. Park on site and enjoy a short and safe walk (not more than 250 metres) to any of at least 6 top class restaurants. We also offer dinners, picnics and take away lunches by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing