We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, very clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We have never stayed at a backpackers so didn't know what to expect but it was really wonderful. Very peaceful with the pool area being a particular oasis - great place for a G&T at the end of the day (or mid-afternoon!!) We stayed in the cottage which was very private and clean. It also sleeps four so we had lots of space. Would give this place 5 stars but have marked it down due to the plumbing - not the best shower in the world but this was in a water-stressed area. Great service from Ilze and Ivan - very helpful.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Karoo Soul is an idyllic spot with a magical and genteel feel. The rooms are lovely, well presented and very comfortable. The 360 verandah provides the perfect spot for chilling and the pool area is perfect for having a drink and watching the sun go down over the lovely view.
I stayed there with some friends in October 2011 and we were made to feel extremely welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly, warm atmosphere created by the owner and staff.

Room Tip: They are all good, spacious and well presented!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the cottage which was very charming. The room was spacious and very clean. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet area with secure parking and we had a very good sleep. There is a lovely pool which we didn't use as it was quite cool when we were there. Breakfast is not included in the price but there is a kitchen in the main house that you can use.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Spent one night in November 2010 on our way from Stellenbosch to the garden route (decided to break the drive up), and we are EXTREMELY glad we did!

Beautiful, clean house with a spectacular view from a hillside just at the edge of town (take one of the two rooms at the back of the house and enjoy the view from bed!). The room itself was awesome, big and spacious, super-comfortable bed, with the aforementioned great view. There are several clean bathrooms to choose from for showers and the like, as well as a small but well-stocked (appliance wise) kitchen. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, offered great advice about what to do and where to eat (as well as discounts on local attractions) , and how could you not love the resident tennis ball-hoarding dog? Note that this is NOT a typical "youth hostel"-- do not stay here if you're looking for a crazy party house, but definitely DO stay here if you value great service, great views, and a great nights sleep. It's also located close enough to the main drag to head out for a great dinner, while being far enough away that you can enjoy the tranquillity of a beautiful Outdshoorn sunset without ambient traffic/people noise. All in all a great find.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhogan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stylish and clean rooms, very helpful staff, excellent value for the money. We had a great time in Karoo Soul Backpackers!
******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antilopensafari-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Stayed for three nights in the stone cottage and were unfortunately disappointed. Bedding poor quality and electrical wiring in kitchenette hazardous. Owner very helpful and knowledgeable about Oudtshoorn

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Best hostel we stayed in so far.
Very friendly, helpful staff. Owner KNOWS what travelers like.
Beautful house set up high so overlooks the town - stunning views, especially at sunset.
Nice pool and BBQ areas. Clean, well-stocked kitchen.
Double with ensuite cottage really nice but so are the doubles in the house (shared bathroom).
Unique art pieces all around. Birds are attracted to the yard.
Hammocks to lounge in.
We give it 10plus out of 10. Absolutely no complaints - sad to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
65 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
De Oude Meul
De Oude Meul
#19 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Little Guest House
Best Little Guest House
#29 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
103 reviews
20.5 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages

Address: 170 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huddled in the heart of the Klein Karoo is this magical Tudor-style manor house. Delicately finding the equilibrium between nature, life and sustainability while remaining one of the most sophisticated travel lodges in the area. Situated on one of the uppermost hills in Oudtshoorn, the manor and surrounding grounds is adorned with art, offering breath-taking views and sunsets combined with a tantalising swimming pool and entertainment patio. Affordable yet stylish and comfortable; surrounded with a sense of well-balanced vitality. Our little piece of paradise. Unique self-catering cottages, spaciously luxurious rooms, an uncrowded dormitory and camping depending on your needs. We also house a well equipped kitchen with optional breakfast. All your questions with regards to local attractions will be answered knowledgeably, offering some vouchers and specials to sites and establishments in and around Oudtshoorn. We strive to make your stay comfortable, exciting and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing