We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We really loved staying at Karoo Soul...it's in a great location as it's in town but not too noisy. We were really pleased to be given a discount voucher from the hostel for half-price entry to the Highgate Ostrich show farm - such a bonus for thrifty travellers! The rooms were beautiful, and the whole place had lots of character. We enjoyed lazing in the hammocks, and would have made full use of the lovely pool and braai area if the weather had been a bit warmer. The staff were friendly and helpful...we'd definitely go there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    41
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
51
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've been to a couple of backpackers in South Africa and I didnt expect that a backpackers could be this beautifully designed. It looked like I walked in to a television show about travelling! The price was great for what you get. From the backpackers you can go to the Cango Caves and to the Ostrich farms. If you are backpacking it is maybe smart to find out in advance when the shuttle busses go back to George, because that can be a problem. The backpackers was amazing, clean and beautifull (inside and out).

Room Tip: The normal rooms are amazing, but even the dorm rooms are beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I was backpacking the Garden Route in South Africa,and when we looked Karoo Soul in Outshoorn and this was by a long way the most sumptuous backpackers I've been to.

It was really beautiful and the views were amazing. I didn't just want to spend the night, I wanted to move in permanently! , I was sure it was going to be out of our price range, so when we tentatively asked the price, I was surprised that it was actually slightly CHEAPER than some of the slightly rough and ready places I've stayed in along the trip! It was the first place we looked at in Oudtshoorn, but we all agreed that we absolutely weren't going anywhere else!

The staff were really lovely and welcoming, they showed us around and even lent us a UK to SA plug adaptor, since the last one got left behind in the previous backpackers. The owner had menus from all the nice restaurants in town and knew them all well, so we went through them and took her advice on the one we ate at, Nostalgie. We had a great evening there, and even went back to the same place for breakfast.

I stayed in the dorm with two guys, and my friends took a double private room. We were all really pleased with our lovely rooms. The lodge was lovely and quiet at night, I passed right in the comfy bed and didn't wake up till my alarm went off, I didn't even hear one of the other guys coming in after partying in town. They kindly provide a little bedside lamp on a long lead so that anyone coming in late or staying up to read or use a laptop in bed doesn't have to switch all the lights on and wake everyone else up - why WHY do no other backpackers do this?

We went to the Cango Caves the next day, and I'm so glad I saw them, it was really beautiful and not too far from Karoo Soul Backpackers.

In summary: TRAVEL the Garden Route. VISIT Oudtshoorn. STAY at Karoo Soul. WALK the Cango Caves.

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm, my friends stayed in a double private room. You don't have to choose a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohobo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Karoo Soul is a very well maintain place ! The prices for the rooms are reasonable for what you get because, having traveling across the Garden route this place was the most luxurious, without the high price tag ! the atmosphere is warm and very friendly !
Advice are given at the backpacker and you can receive a lot of discounts for activities in Oudshoorn or in the area
If you are looking for a nice peaceful place i would recommend this one

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I would recommend this hostel to everybody! Great place with nice and clean rooms, comfy beds and a beautifull view from the rooms as well as the big garden with swimming pool! It's very close to the city-centre. There are a lot of facilities including a lot: expedition offers, bath towels, laundry service, breakfast, dinner, wifi and safe parking. Very friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Cosy and quiet place (only a few rooms) with secured parking and shared kitchen, breakfast can be ordered for a reasonable price. Very nice and helpful owner - we arrived late and she came back from town just for us and made some calls to nearby restaurants to find out where to get something to eat. Nicely decorated ensuite room. Note, payment only possible in cash, but there's an ATM in walking distance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Very beautiful lodge situated on top of a small mountain offering breathtaking views over Oudtshoorn and the mountains in the back. Every room has been decorated individually with a lot of attention to detail and artistic masterpieces. Fantastic beds+linen, clean bathrooms, beautiful garden + pool and super friendly owners who make your stay memorable. Ask for special vouchers to Ostrich farms and Cango Caves. We originally wanted to stay for one night only but extended to 2 nights and didnt wanna leave at the end. Definitely the best lodge we stayed at in South Africa!!! Dont miss out on that experience when going to Oudtshoorn!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaWitte86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#26 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#28 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages

Property: Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Address: 170 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing