We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ranst
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Karoo Soul has some realy beautifull rooms! Their is a lot of space and a small pool with a "braai" area outside! You can play some music with the stereo installation at the braai area and hang out in the hammocks!

Room Tip: If you're the first to check in that day you can choose between all the rooms, so if you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    46
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
55
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Loved this place. We extended our initial stay because we loved it so much. I have stayed in Oudtshoorn twice now at two different places and this is by far the best. It's not your normal backpackers so if you want to scream and have loud parties, this probably isn't the place. If you want to come and recover from a normal backpackers......then come here :-)

The staff here are really friendly and helpful and will assist you in making any plans. The garden area is beautiful and they have a very inviting pool to cool you down after the usual Oudtshoorn weather. Bedrooms Are large and spacious with huge beds! Bathroom facilities are very clean and they have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen.

Ask them about the waterfall where you can go and swim. I can't remember the name but if you have a car then you MUST go here if you enjoy swimming and the great outdoors. For me this has been one of my favourite experiences here in South Africa.

Thanks for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stopped in Oudtshoorn for one night on a Route 62 road trip. We prebooked a private room and were very happy with our choice. The room was very spacious and clean. The pool and braai area is great and the staff were very helpful, I would definitely recommend Karoo Soul

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeelsCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A soulful old family house now welcomes backpackers, slackpackers, couples and entire families. Peaceful garden, wrap-around verandah, relaxing lapa, inspiring sunsets. Welcoming staff, dogs and cats. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: One of the two front rooms with a view over the lavender-coloured Karoo mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Great-Escapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We chose Karoo Soul for our stay in Outshorne because of the great Tripadvisor reviews - and it really lived up to our expectations. Karoo Soul is as stylish as backpackers ever get. White-washed walls with fantastic wooden furniture in the main house, clean and functional bathrooms, beautiful kitchen - the decor really impressed us by it's simplicity and elegance. The manager was exceptionally helpful - he advised us on a few options for dinner, and we had a great experience watching hippos while dining at the dam of Buffelsdrift (20 mins drive).

Pros: a stunning place, attentive staff, a little pool and lots of outside benches to enjoy the views.
Cons: a little bit outside of the main roads, shops, bars. Wi-Fi connection kept on dropping every 3 mins or so - we really struggled with that.

But a really really nice place to have as a base for exploring Ostrich farms and the Cango Caves.

Room Tip: All had a lot of charm... you can't go wrong from what we observed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A really nice place. Great pool and a beautiful old house with a lot of character. It has great views of the mountains and you can sit and watch the sun set.....just beautiful. There is also a really nice braai area. We paid R400 for a double room with bathroom, great value!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwazulu natal
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent value for money, friendly and very helpful staff, comfortable rooms, spacious and clean. What more can you ask for. We really enjoyed our stay here and enjoyed the self catering facility. Oudtshoorn is an interesting place, arty and vibey. We really enjoyed the experience!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
1.2 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages

Property: Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Address: 170 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing