We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beds, loads of activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good beds, loads of activities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Nice backpackers with large and comfy (bunk) beds! Because the backpackers kind of is stretched out and has several living spaces, everybody seems to do his own thing in stead of catching up with following travelers in one common room. Overall: good place to stay but because of the high quality of the other backpackers, not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrevW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    49
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
50
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

This place is very central and easy to find with many restaurants in walking distance. The rooms, although simple, are clean and well looked after as well as the bathrooms. The staff are extremely helpful and the owners are very accommodating. Their small bar is a great hang out to meet new people from all over. Trips to the various attractions can be organised there as well as bicycles. One can also get discount vouchers for places like the Cango Caves at the front desk. A fantastic place overall.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This backpacker place is on the main road, in town. We had a 6 person dorm, with comfy beds. The bathrooms are clean and plenty of hot water. The place is large and sprawling. The communal kitchen is in the main house and is clean and well stocked. There are plenty of places to relax and hang out. There is a nightly braai and fire. Rian was very helpful in helping us plan our time and activities in Oudtshorn. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in a double room with en suite for one night, although the room we ended up in actually had 4 beds - I thought this room might normally be used as a 4 bed dorm. This did mean we had a large amount of space for only 2 people. The decor was a bit tired, although the room and bathroom seemed clean enough. Each bed had an individual reading light which would be great if being used as a dorm. The staff were friendly and the girl on check in gave us discount vouchers for Cango Ostrich Farm and Cango Wildlife Ranch. A different member of staff also gave us some useful tips on where to go for dinner. The hostel has secure parking on a first come first served basis, but is in a fairly quiet area and so parking on street probably wouldn't be a huge issue. The hostel is on the edge of town with a couple of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room was OK although it was right on the road so pretty noisy and the twin beds weren’t as comfortable as any of the other places we stayed in South Africa. The ensuite, however, was very clean. There was an impersonal ‘factory’ feel about the place. There is a secure parking with an access code which is first-come first-served and there was a surcharge for both breakfast and wifi. We decided to do their ‘braai’ one night which was good value but it was served at the table the minute we arrived at 7pm so we didn’t really get the braai experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Based on some reviews that we saw here ("Best backpackers in south africa") we had some high expectations of this place. It was just okay and the negatives far outweighed the positives. We stayed in two family rooms over five nights. The kitchen is poorly equipped and they clearly have a problem with theft based on the number of signs asking people not to steal things. Despite this, there was little cutlery and cups were hard to come by. The rooms were quite grimy and the shared baths were very dirty. Each morning at 7 am the kitchen and garden staff would come into the shared kitchen making lots of noise and smoking cigarettes to make their own breakfast before starting work. The problem was that they were very noisy and left all their dirty dishes in the kitchen sink - so even if you wanted to clean up after your own breakfast, it was virtually impossible to do so. Though a non-smoking facility, everyone smokes in the central garden areas, which is right outside all the windows so smoke is prevalent throughout the building. The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly, though we were asked to pay our bill two days early because the fellow that checked us in was taking a few days off and had to reconcile the accounts of all the people he'd checked in (what is with that???). On the up side, the place is secure, centrally located and within walking distance of some good restaurants. But the facility itself is not that great and I would rank it on the low end of average in terms of backpackers's accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariahout, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

When we got there to ask for a room they were fully booked with double rooms. But the have a new house (a mansion!) in the neighbourhood. We got it for the same rate, they gave us the keys and directions and we were on our way to this location.
It was magnificient. Also there were no other people so we had this great place all to ourselves! We made a fire, cooked ourselves, had a (bubble)bath and didn't leave the house untill the next day.

Really a good stay, the pictures say enough....

Room Tip: ask for the 'other accommodation'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#28 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Property: Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Address: 148 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing