We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides for one night.
The room and bathroom were basic but clean (besides of a couple of aunts in the shower) but you can not avoid them. The room are pretty big. The staff is very nice they have a cool bar area and a big living room with a big couch and a TV (WIFI just in the living room). Oudtshoorn has not so much to offer but it's o.k to stay one night and chill out. You can walk to the restaurants on the main street, you don't need a car. Breakfast is not included but you can make yourself ostrich scrambled eggs for free in the kitchen. (every morning they put ostrich eggs in the kitchen). Safe parking area. A/C is in the room. I have to say I woke up at night because it was so silent never had this before. You wake up full of energy this is for sure. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReJoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed one night in Oudtshoorn and that was plenty. The town has nothing going for it, aside from a break in the drive to/from Cape Town. On a Friday night in the middle of the tourist season (late December) there was almost nothing open in town after 5:00PM. I'd say pass on the town if you can.

Backpackers' Paradise is fine and although pretty basic the prices are not too bad. They seem to over extend themselves on their activities and let's face it: Cango Caves are just not that big of a deal.
The ostrich braai at Backpackers' was good and the breakfast was only so-so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YouthinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The rooms were nice, the food was perfect although you pay R25 for a simple breakfast (R40 for warm) which is quit expensive as you look at what you get.
Its a beautifull location and great fun with their own bar and nice people!
Definitely going again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Nice backpackers with large and comfy (bunk) beds! Because the backpackers kind of is stretched out and has several living spaces, everybody seems to do his own thing in stead of catching up with following travelers in one common room. Overall: good place to stay but because of the high quality of the other backpackers, not the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrevW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This place is very central and easy to find with many restaurants in walking distance. The rooms, although simple, are clean and well looked after as well as the bathrooms. The staff are extremely helpful and the owners are very accommodating. Their small bar is a great hang out to meet new people from all over. Trips to the various attractions can be organised there as well as bicycles. One can also get discount vouchers for places like the Cango Caves at the front desk. A fantastic place overall.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This backpacker place is on the main road, in town. We had a 6 person dorm, with comfy beds. The bathrooms are clean and plenty of hot water. The place is large and sprawling. The communal kitchen is in the main house and is clean and well stocked. There are plenty of places to relax and hang out. There is a nightly braai and fire. Rian was very helpful in helping us plan our time and activities in Oudtshorn. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in a double room with en suite for one night, although the room we ended up in actually had 4 beds - I thought this room might normally be used as a 4 bed dorm. This did mean we had a large amount of space for only 2 people. The decor was a bit tired, although the room and bathroom seemed clean enough. Each bed had an individual reading light which would be great if being used as a dorm. The staff were friendly and the girl on check in gave us discount vouchers for Cango Ostrich Farm and Cango Wildlife Ranch. A different member of staff also gave us some useful tips on where to go for dinner. The hostel has secure parking on a first come first served basis, but is in a fairly quiet area and so parking on street probably wouldn't be a huge issue. The hostel is on the edge of town with a couple of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#21 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
65 reviews
20.1 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
510 reviews
8.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Address: 148 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £17 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing